Badminton Stats: Malaysians who have won Canada Open

The Canada Open in badminton is an international open held in Canada since 1957. The tournament is traditionally held every year in September. However, for the 2023 edition, the tournament will be held in the month of July. Earlier the tournament used to take place along with Canada National Championships.

In 1957 the Canadian Badminton Federation decided to open the Canadian National Championships and they were combined with the Canadian Open until 1961. In 1962 they were divided and held as separate tournaments. The championships were held as Canadian International in 2008 and 2009. The tournament earlier was a Bwf Super 300 tournament. From 2023 onwards, this will be a Super 500 tournament. This tournament has a long lineage and history. The 2023 edition will be the 58th edition of the tournament.

Who are some of the famous Malaysians to win the tournament?

1. Lee Chong Wei (Event- Men’s Singles, Year- 2015)

Lee Chong Wei became the Canada Open champion in 2015 by defeating Angus Ng Ka Long of Hong Kong, 21-17 & 21-13. The former world no. 1 won it in straight sets. However, this was his only podium in the tournament throughout his career. Nevertheless, due to his impeccable professional badminton career, he features in this list. Lee had been a two-time Olympic silver medalist and World no. 1 for the longest time with Malaysia.

2. Misbun Sidek (Event- Men’s Singles & Men’s Doubles, Year- 1983 & 1984)

The Malaysian prodigal brothers; the Sidek brothers have left their imprints on Canada Open as well. During the 1980s, the five Sidek brothers almost ruled the badminton world from Malaysia. However, their eldest brother Misbun Sidek has given some more extraordinary performances. One of them was his back-to-back performances in Canada Open. Sidek won the tournament for two years on a trot. He won the men’s singles in 1983 by defeating Jens Peter Nierhoff (15-6, 11-15 & 15-12) from Denmark. That year he also won the doubles title with his brother Rashid Sidek. Misbun was successful in defending his doubles title the next year by winning it with his brother Razif. Due to his outstanding service to the sport, the Malaysian government conferred upon him the title of commander of the Order of Meritorious Service (Datuk).

3. Ng Boon Bee (Event- Men’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles, Year- 1966 & 1971)

Datuk Ng Boon Bee was a Malaysian badminton player who excelled from the 1960s through the early 1970s. His success in doubles earned him recognition as one of the greatest doubles players in badminton history. Boon won the Canada Open for the first time in 1966 with Tan Yee Khan. That year he won the mixed doubles as well with Ulla Strand. Five years later, Boon again won the men’s doubles and mixed doubles with Punch Gunalan and Sylvia Ng respectively. Ng Boon Bee is the most successful Malaysian in this tournament. The late Malaysian shuttler had won the tournament on four occasions.

Who are the Malaysians to win the Canada Open? 

1959Lim Say Hup & Teh Kew SanMen’s doubles
1966Tan Aik HuangMen’s singles
1966Ng Boon Bee & Tan Yee KhanMen’s doubles
1966Ng Boon Bee & Ulla StrandMixed doubles
1971Ng Boon Bee & Punch GunalanMen’s doubles
1971Ng Boon Bee & Sylvia NgMixed doubles
1983Misbun Sidek Men’s singles
1983Rashid Sidek & Misbun SidekMen’s doubles
1984Razif Sidek & Misbun SidekMen’s doubles
1990Ong Ewe Chye & Rahman SidekMen’s doubles
1991Jalani Sidek & Razif SidekMen’s doubles
1992Cheah Soon Kit & Soo Beng KiangMen’s doubles
2007Lee Tsuen SengMen’s singles
2013Tan Chun SeangMen’s singles
2015Lee Chong WeiMen’s Singles

Read more badminton stats over here:

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.