Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Taipei Open

The Taipei Open is an open badminton international championship held in Taiwan since the 1970s. Earlier, they used to take place at very irregular intervals. Since the 1980s they are regularly held. However, on a few occasions, the event could not be conducted like during the Asian economic crisis (in 1998,) 2001, 2020, and 2021. The latter two are due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Taiwan. This edition will be the 40th edition of this BWF Super 300 competition. The 2023 Taipei Open is the fifteenth tournament of the 2023 BWF World Tour.

Although the Indians have not been the best on the field when it comes to the Taipei Open, yet there have been some famous shuttlers who have been in the fray and tried to win it for our country. In the ongoing Taipei Open of 2023, HS Prannoy and Parupalli Kashyap have taken a commendable position in the men’s singles event. While on the other hand, Tanya Hemanth is leading the charge in the women’s singles. The duo Sekki Reddy and Rohan Kapoor are the players who form the vital cog in the challenge of the mixed doubles.

Who are some of the famous Indians to win the tournament?

1. Saina Nehwal (Event-Women’s Singles, Year-2008)

Saina Nehwal became the Taipei Open champion in 2008 by defeating Lydia Cheah of Malaysia, 12-21, 21-18, 21-9.The match was a tightly fought match. In the first set Lydia had the better of the Indian as she won the set 12-21. Saina then went on to win the second set by 21-18. In the third set, Saina cruised to victory by taking the set 21-9. However, this has been her only podium in the tournament throughout her career till now. Nevertheless, due to her outstanding professional badminton career, she features in this list. Saina had been a former Olympic bronze medalist and World no. 1 for the first time from India.

Besides her Olympic success, Saina had also been the bronze medal winning Uber Cup team on two occasions- 2014 and 2016. She has also won Gold medals in the Commonwealth Games on two occasions- 2010 (India), 2018 (Australia).

2. Valiyaveeti Diju (Event-Mixed Doubles, Year-2009)

Valiyaveeti Diju became the Taipei Open champion in 2008 along with Jwala Gutta by defeating Hendra Aprida Gunawan & Vita Marissa of Indonesia, 23-21 & 21-18. The Indian pair proved to be really strong on that occasion as they defeated the Indonesians in straight sets. Valiyaveetil Diju also known as V. Diju, is an Indian badminton player from Kozhikode, Kerala. He is famous to have six National Championships title, once in the men’s doubles and five times in the mixed doubles. Diju represented India in the 2012 London Olympics and became the first Indian player to participate at the Olympics in the mixed doubles alongside Jwala Gutta.

Diju started his International career by representing India for Asian junior badminton championship held at Hong Kong in 1997. Slowly, he started coming up in the ranks of the badminton tournaments across the world. Diju has won medals at the South Asian Games on multiple occasions. He won gold in Colombo (2006) and gold and silver in Dhaka (2010).

3. Jwala Gutta (Event-Mixed Doubles, Year-2009)

Diju’s partner in crime who won the Taipei Open along with him was Jwala Gutta. Jwala Gutta  is an Indian badminton player who represented India in the beginning of the late 1990s. Gutta has been credited to have brought recognition for doubles badminton in India. First with her mixed doubles partner Diju with whom she peaked at no. 6 in 2010. Later she partnered with Ashwini Ponnappa in women’s doubles. She is the first doubles badminton player who has crossed the top 10 mark in the BWF World rankings.

Gutta has been active of the court as well. In addition to her badminton career, Gutta has been vociferous for the issues she advocates for. These range from fair treatment in sports, health and education, women’s empowerment to gender equality. Gutta is probably one of the few badminton players who has a near perfect record in the South Asian Games. She has won Gold in all the editions that she was a part of; 2004 (Islamabad), 2006 (Colombo) and 2016 (Guwahati)

Who are the Indians to win the Taipei Open? 

Although the performance of Indians in Taipei Open has not been up to the mark over they years. Yet, there have been few promising performances in the current edition of the tournament. Below is the list of Indians who have won the tournament in the past:

YearName of the ChampionCategory
2008Saina NehwalWomen’s Single
2009Valiyaveeti DijuMixed Doubles
2009Jwala GuttaMixed Doubles

Read more stats about different sports over here:

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.