Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the LPGA’s Founders Cup

The Cognizant Founders Cup is a women’s professional golf event on the LPGA Tour, held in Clifton, New Jersey. Launched in 2011, the tournament initially took place at the Wildfire Golf Club at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort and Spa in Phoenix, Arizona. This competition honors the LPGA Tour’s rich legacy and the 13 remarkable women, known as the Founders, who established the LPGA over seven decades ago. 

In its 10-year history, the Founders Cup has raised close to $4 million for the organization. These funds have facilitated the expansion of Girls Golf, a program dedicated to introducing young girls to the sport and equipping them with self-confidence, lasting friendships, and valuable life skills, with 34 new sites and support for growing locations that have doubled in size. The main recipient of support from the Founders Cup is the LPGA-USGA Girls Golf Program. 

Cognizant, a leading multinational technology firm specializing in business consulting, IT, and outsourcing services, is the tournament’s current title sponsor. From 2011 to 2013, the tournament was known as the RR Donnelley LPGA Founders Cup. JTBC, the South Korean television network, was the event’s main sponsor. The Bank of Hope which is headquartered in Los Angeles served as the primary sponsor of the Founders Cup between 2017 and 2019. The Volvik then took over its sponsorship in 2020 but the tournament wasn’t held in the year, owing to the Covid-19 pandemic. Since 2021, Cognizant has been serving as the main sponsor.

Read More-Golf Stats: USA golfers who have won the Chevron Championship

Format of the LPGA’s Founders Cup

In 2011, the LPGA introduced a novel format for the tournament, where players didn’t receive a monetary prize. Instead, half of the $1 million tournament purse went to charity, while the top 10 finishers chose individual charities for the remaining half. Players who made the cut were awarded virtual earnings, which counted towards the LPGA official money list. In 2012, the Founders Cup extended from three to four days, and an actual cash prize was established. Between 2012 and 2019, the winner’s purse stood at $1,500,000, but since 2021, it has increased to $3,000,000.

Golfers who have won the LPGA’s Founders Cup

Karrie Webb (2014 and 2011) and Jin-Young Ko (2021 and 2019) have won the LPGA’s Founders Cup twice in the history of the tournament. Since the 2020 tournament was canceled due to the Covid-19 pandemic, Jin-Young Ko successfully defended her title again in 2021. She became the first golfer in the tournament to win two consecutive titles. 

The Cognizant Founders Cup 2023 is all set to commence from May 11 to May 14, 2023, which will feature many golf stars like Lydia Ko, Nelly Korda, two-time champion Jin Young Ko, last year champion Minjee Lee and many more star golfers. With less than 48 hours for the tournament to begin, let’s take a look at the previous champions of the LPGA’s Founders Cup.

YearChampionScoreTo par
2022Minjee Lee (Australia)269 (67, 63, 69, 70)−19
2021Jin-young Ko (South Korea)266 (63, 68, 69, 66)−18
2019Jin-young Ko (South Korea)266 (65, 72, 64, 65)−22
2018Inbee Park (South Korea)269 (68, 71, 63, 67)−19
2017Anna Nordqvist (Sweden)263 (67, 67, 61, 68)−25
2016Kim Sei-young (South Korea)261 (63, 66, 70, 62)−27
2015Kim Hyo-joo (South Korea)267 (65, 69, 66, 67)−21
2014Karrie Webb (Australia)269 (66, 71, 69, 63)−19
2013Stacy Lewis (United States)265 (68, 65, 68, 64)−23
2012Yani Tseng (Taiwan)270 (65, 70, 67, 68)−18
2011Karrie Webb (Australia)204 (71, 67, 66)−12

Like Athletics? Here are some more Athletics Stats –
1) Athletics Stats: Winners of the Diamond League Doha 2023 event-wise
2) Athletics Stats: USA women who have won the 400m hurdles event at the Olympics
3) Athletics Stats: Most Diamond League Titles won by an athlete
4) Athletics Stats: Gold medalists from USA in the 100m sprint in Summer Olympics