Badminton Stats: Malaysians who have won the Taipei Open

The Taipei Open is an open badminton international championship held in Taiwan since the 1970s. Earlier, they used to take place at very irregular intervals. Since the 1980s they are regularly held. However, on a few occasions, the event could not be conducted like during the Asian economic crisis (in 1998,) 2001, 2020, and 2021. The latter two are due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Taiwan. This edition will be the 40th edition of this BWF Super 300 competition. The 2023 Taipei Open is the fifteenth tournament of the 2023 BWF World Tour.

Who are some of the famous Malaysians to win the tournament?

1. Lee Chong Wei  (Event – Men’s Singles, Year – 2004)

Lee Chong Wei became the Taipei Open champion in 2004 by defeating Kuan Beng Hong of Malaysia, 15-4 and 15-10. The earlier pointing system was out of 15 so considering that it is a commendable effort. However, this was his only podium in the tournament throughout his career. Nevertheless, due to his impeccable professional badminton career, he features in this list. Lee had been a two-time Olympic silver medalist and World no. 1 for the longest time with Malaysia.

2. Jalani Sidek & Razif Sidek (Event – Men’s Doubles, Year – 1986, 1989 & 1991)

The sibling pair of Jalani Sidek and Razif Sidek is the most successful Malaysian pairing that has taken part in this competition. Nicknamed Ajib (Razif) and Alan (Jalani), the two brothers have won the championship on three occasions together. Their first win came against South Korea (in 1986), next against Sweden (1989) and lastly against their fellow countrymen (in 1991). Both of them come from the famous line of Sidek brothers who have carved out a name for themselves in the field of badminton. Both Jalani and Razif have been crowned with the title of Datuk for their outstanding contributions to the field of badminton.

Read more: Hockey Stats: Nations that have won the Women’s Hockey Junior Asia Cup

3. Misbun Sidek (Event – Men’s Singles, Year – 1987)

Misbun is the eldest of the famous Sidek brothers. He became the Taipei Open champion in 1987 by defeating Park Joo-Bong of South Korea, 5-15, 15-9 and 15-3. Although this was his only podium in the tournament throughout his career. Yet due to his and his brother’s contributions to the sport, he features in this list. Misbun has also been part of the Thomas Cup teams of 1988 and 1986 as well as a former World No. 2.

4. Lee Zii Jia (Event – Men’s Singles, Year – 2018)

The following Malaysian to feature on the list is Lee Zii Jia. The 25-year-old has been in the news recently due to his sudden decision to go on an indefinite break from badminton. Lee Zii Jia became the Taipei Open champion in 2018 by defeating Riichi Takeshita of Japan, 21-17, 16-21 & 21-11. The game was an intensely fought game. However, the on-court prowess of the Malaysian won him the Taipei Open.

Who are the Malaysians to win the Taipei Open? 

YearName of the championCategory
1986 Jalani Sidek & Razif SidekMen’s Doubles
1987Misbun SidekMen’s Singles
1989 Jalani Sidek & Razif SidekMen’s Doubles
1991 Jalani Sidek & Razif SidekMen’s Doubles
1992Cheah Soon Kit & Soo Beng KiangMen’s Doubles
1993Cheah Soon Kit & Soo Beng KiangMen’s Doubles
2003Wong Choong HannMen’s Singles
2004Lee Chong WeiMen’s Singles
2004Chan Chong Ming & Koo Kien KeatMen’s Doubles
2004Koo Kien Keat & Wong Pei TtyMixed Doubles
2012Mohd Zakry Abdul Latif & Fairuzizuan TazariMen’s Doubles
2018Lee Zii JiaMen’s Singles
2019Goh V Shem & Tan Wee KiongMen’s Doubles
2022Man Wei Chong & Tee Kai WunMen’s Doubles

Read more stats over here:

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.