Badminton Stats: Malaysians who have won the Singapore Open

The Singapore Open is a badminton event that has been held in Singapore annually since 1929. The inception of the tournament started with the establishment of the Singapore Badminton Association in 1929. Its first official annual open championships were held in that same year with the best players chosen to represent Singapore in the regional tournaments. In 1957, it became an open-invitation championship and was held annually until 1973.

During 1987–1989, the tournament was known as the Konica Cup, an invitation championship exclusively for Asian players. In the 1990s, for the first time entered the International Badminton Federation Grand Prix circuit. The event entered the roster of the BWF Super Series events from the year 2007. In 2018, it was designated as one of the seven BWF World Tour Super 500 events. Recently in 2023, Singapore Open entered the BWF World Tour Super 750 events.

Who are some of the famous Malaysians to win the tournament?

1. Lee Chong Wei  (Event – Men’s Singles, Year – 2008)

Lee Chong Wei became the Singapore Open champion in 2008 by defeating Simon Santoso of Indonesia,21-13 and 21-5. Although this was his only podium in the tournament throughout his career. Yet due to his impeccable professional badminton career, he features in this list. Lee had been a two-time Olympic silver medalist and World no. 1 for the longest time with Malaysia.

2. Billy Ng ( Event- Men’s Singles & Mixed Doubles Year- 1960, 1964 and 1966)

Billy NG nicknamed Billy the Kid has clinched this title on multiple occasions. The former Malaysian player was also a Thomas Cup winner and has won the title on three occasions in the past. Billy represented Malaysia & finished runner-up in the inaugural Asian Badminton Championship (ABC) in 1960. In 2007, he was inducted into the Olympic Council of Malaysia’s Hall of Fame. Three years later in July 2010, Billy Ng was conferred Darjah Indera Mahkota Pahang (DIMP) which carries the title Dato’.

3. Sylvia Tan (Event- Women’s Singles & Women’s Doubles Year- 1963 and 1964)

Malaysia is fortunate to have world-class female players as well. One of them was Sylvia Tan, who was the winner of the competition in multiple categories over a span of two years. Sylvia started the tournament with the women’s singles title. She then added to this success by winning the doubles title Tan Yee Chin in the same year. Next year she replicated the feat with Lai Sew York and won the singles title as well.

Who are the Malaysians to win the Singapore Open? 

YearName of the championCategory
1957Johnny Heah & Lim Say Hup Men’s doubles
1957Lim Say Hup & Jessie OngMixed doubles
1958Johnny Heah & Lim Say Hup Men’s doubles
1958Lim Say Hup & Jessie OngMixed doubles
1959Ong Poh Lim & Omar YahyaMen’s doubles
1959Lim Say Hup & Jessie OngMixed doubles
1960Billy NgMen’s singles
1960Tan Gaik BeeWomen’s singles
1960Bobby Chee & Khoo Eng HuahMen’s doubles
1960Cecilia Samuel & Tan Gaik BeeWomen’s doubles
1963 Teh Kew SanMen’s singles
1963 Sylvia TanWomen’s singles
1963Ng Boon Bee & Tan Yee KhanMen’s doubles
1963Sylvia Tan & Tan Yee ChinWomen’s doubles
1964Billy NgMen’s singles
1964Sylvia TanWomen’s singles
1964Ng Boon Bee & Tan Yee KhanMen’s doubles
1964Lai Siew York & Sylvia TanWomen’s doubles
1965Omar ManapMen’s singles
1965Lai Siew YorkWomen’s singles
1966Yew Cheng HoeMen’s singles
1966Eddy Choong & Yew Cheng HoeMen’s doubles 
1966Billy Ng & Sylvia NgMixed doubles
1968Tan Aik HuangMen’s singles
1968Ng Boon Bee & Tan Yee KhanMen’s doubles
1971Rosalind Singha Ang & Teoh Siew YongWomen’s doubles
1971Ng Boon Bee & Sylvia NgMixed doubles
1989Jalani Sidek & Razif SidekMen’s doubles
1999Choong Tan Fook & Lee Wan WahMen’s doubles
2008Lee Chong WeiMen’s singles
2008Mohd Zakry Abdul Latif & Mohd Fairuzizuan Mohd TazariMen’s doubles
2018Goh Soon Huat & Shevon Jemie LaiMixed doubles

Read more badmintons stats over here:

  1. Badminton Stats: Malaysians who have won the Thailand Open title
  2. Badminton Stats: List of all time winners of Malaysia Masters
  3. Badminton Stats: Which are the nations that have won the Sudirman Cup?

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.