Badminton Stats: What are the top 6 biggest badminton tournaments in the World?

The sport of badminton is dominated by a plethora of events that comes in the form of super series, 500 format tournaments and 300 format tournament. However, some tournaments have carved out a special name for itself in this fast shuffling racquet sport. Over the years these tournaments have given a lot of legendary talents like: Lin Dan, Lee Chong Wei, Morten Frost, Taufik Hidayat, Saina Nehwal, PV Sindhu, Prakash Padukone, Phullela Gopichand to name a few. Although the list of tournaments will be an endless count, nevertheless there are 6 important tournaments in the BWF calendar year. These 6 tournaments due to various reasons have become the most hard fought competitions in the world of this racquet sport.

Which are the top 6?

BWF World Championship

The BWF World Championship is one of the most prestigious tournaments in badminton. It offers the shuttlers one of the highest-ranking points in the calendar year along with the Summer Olympics. The winners of this tournament are also crowned as “World Champions” of the sport and are awarded a gold medal. The tournament started in 1977 and was held once every three years. Since 1985, the tournament became a biennial and was played once every two years until 2005. Starting in 2006, the tournament was changed to an annual event on the BWF calendar. China’s Lin Dan (men’s singles) and Spain’s Carolina Marin (women’s singles) are one of the most successful players in this tournament.

Badminton at the Summer Olympics

The Olympics is probably one of the most prestigious platforms on which athletes give their blood and sweat to win that shining gold medal. Likewise, badminton is no different where athletes have given their all to win the prestigious medal. Over the years, 74 different nations have appeared in the Olympic badminton competitions, with 18 appearing all eight times. China is the undisputed champion in this sports with 47 medals under its tally. The other successful nations are Indonesia (21 medals) and South Korea (20 medals).

Thomas Cup

The Thomas Cup, is an international badminton competition among teams representing member nations of the Badminton World Federation. Thomac Cup has been conducted every two years since the 1982. The final phase of the tournament involves 12 teams competing at venues within the host nation. The brain child behind this tournament had been Sir George Alan Thomas. The current champions of Thomas Cup is team India. India became the sixth nation overall to win the title. This is also the maiden cup title for the country.

Uber Cup

The Uber Cup, is a major international badminton competition contested by women’s national badminton teams. It was started in 1957 at three years intervals post which it has been contested at two years intervals (since 1984). The Uber Cup is named after a former British women’s badminton player, Betty Uber, who in 1950 had the idea of hosting a women’s event similar to the men’s. Uber Cup follows a similar structure to that of the Thomas Cup. The majority of the titles are shared between: China, Japan, Indonesia and South Korea.

Sudirman Cup

The Sudirman Cup is an international badminton mixed team competition contested by member countries of the BWF. The championship has been awarded every two years since the inaugural tournament in 1989. The cup is named in the honour of Dick Sudirman who has been an Indonesian legend when it come to the sport of badminton. There is no prize money in Sudirman Cup. Players play for their respective countries and to earn BWF World Ranking points and national prestige.

All-England Open

Seen as the oldest badminton tournament in the world, the All England Open Badminton Championship is one of the most prestigious Super Series tournaments in the BWF calendar. The world’s first open tournament was held in the English town of Guildford in 1898. This paved the way for All England’s inaugural edition, which was held at London’s Horticultural Halls in 1899. Many prestigious badminton players have been crowned champions in this tournament like Phulela Gopichand, Peter Gade, and Shi Yuqi to name a few. Cumulatively, England, Denmark and China are the most successful nations in the tournament.

Read more: Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Thailand Open title

What are the 6 biggest badminton tournaments in the World?

Let us look at the records of the top 6 championships that are conducted by the BWF in a calendar year:

Name of the tournamentPrevious Name (if any)Year of establishmentMost successful nation
World ChampionshipsIBF World Championships1977China (69 gold medals)
Summer OlympicsNone1992China (47 medals)
Thomas CupNone1949Indonesia (14 titles)
Uber CupNone1957China (15 titles)
Sudirman CupNone1989China (13 titles)
All-England OpenNone1899England (194 titles

Read more badminton stats:

  1. Badminton Stats: Malaysians who have won the Indonesia Open title
  2. Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Indonesia Open title
  3. Badminton Stats: Which are the nations that have won the Sudirman Cup?

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.