Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the PGA Championship

The PGA Championship is an yearly golf event managed by the Professional Golfers’ Association of America, which is the American organization of golf professionals that was established in the year 1916. It is one of the four major events in professional men’s golf. The event, recognized outside the USA as the US PGA Championship or USPGA, has held its prestigious position on the calendar in May, during the weekend preceding Memorial Day, since 2019. This ranks it as the second major tournament of the season, following the Masters Tournament conducted in April.

The honors given to PGA winners stretch beyond a particular competition. Champions receive an invitation to compete in the other three major tournaments – the Masters Tournament, U.S. Open, and The Open Championship and The Players Championship (another significant event), for the next five years. Moreover, they gain lifetime eligibility for the PGA Championship. The victory in the PGA Championship ensures the players’ membership on the PGA Tour for the next five years and a seven-year stint on the European Tour. In fact, the PGA Championship is the only major that is restricted solely to professional players which implies its tough standards and high-level competition.

Read More-Four Biggest Men’s Golf Tournaments- Their history, most wins by any golfer and key facts

Golfers who have won the maximum PGA Championship titles

In the stroke play format, Jack Nicklaus has won the championship on maximum occasions, with five victories. Tiger Woods has won twice in a row, doing so in 1999-2000 and again in 2006-07. When Phil Mickelson won the PGA Championship in 2021, he became the oldest winner at nearly 51 years old. On the other end, the youngest winner was Gene Sarazen, who won at the age of 20 years and 174 days in 1922. The most under par strokes at 20 in a PGA Championship was achieved by Jason Day in 2015, which is the best under par score in all major tournaments. In the match play format, no one has won more than Walter Hagen, who has five titles.

The PGA Championship is all set to take place from May 18 to May 21, 2023 on the East Course of Oak Hill Country Club in Pittsford, New York. With many top golfers like Jon Rahm, Scottie Scheffler, defending champion Justin Thomas, and Rory McIlroy participating in the 2023 edition, let’s take a look at the past winners of the renowned PGA Championship. 

Who are the golfers to have won the PGA Championship (stroke play)?

YearWinnerScoreTo par
2022Justin Thomas (USA)275−5
2021Phil Mickelson (USA)282−6
2020Collin Morikawa (USA)267−13
2019Brooks Koepka (USA)272−8
2018Brooks Koepka (USA)264−16
2017Justin Thomas (USA)276−8
2016Jimmy Walker (USA)266−14
2015Jason Day (Australia)268−20
2014Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)268−16
2013Jason Dufner (USA)270−10
2012Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)275−13
2011Keegan Bradley (USA)272−8
2010Martin Kaymer (Germany)277−11
2009Yang Yong-eun (South Korea)280−8
2008Pádraig Harrington (Ireland)277−3
2007Tiger Woods (USA)272−8
2006Tiger Woods (USA)270−18
2005Phil Mickelson (USA)276−4
2004Vijay Singh (Fiji)280−8
2003Shaun Micheel (USA)276−4
2002Rich Beem (USA)278−10
2001David Toms (USA)265−15
2000Tiger Woods (USA)270−18
1999Tiger Woods (USA)277−11
1998Vijay Singh (Fiji)271−9
1997Davis Love III (USA)269−11
1996Mark Brooks (USA)277−11
1995Steve Elkington (Australia)267−17
1994Nick Price (Zimbabwe)269−11
1993Paul Azinger (USA)272−12
1992Nick Price (Zimbabwe)278−6
1991John Daly (USA)276−12
1990Wayne Grady (Australia)282−6
1989Payne Stewart (USA)276−12
1988Jeff Sluman (USA)272−12
1987Larry Nelson (USA)287−1
1986Bob Tway (USA)276−8
1985Hubert Green (USA)278−6
1984Lee Trevino (USA)273−15
1983Hal Sutton (USA)274−10
1982Raymond Floyd (USA)272−8
1981Larry Nelson (USA)273−7
1980Jack Nicklaus (USA)274−6
1979David Graham (Australia)272−8
1978John Mahaffey (USA)276−8
1977Lanny Wadkins (USA)282−6
1976Dave Stockton (USA)2811
1975Jack Nicklaus (USA)276−4
1974Lee Trevino (USA)276−4
1973Jack Nicklaus (USA)277−7
1972Gary Player (South Africa)2811
1971Jack Nicklaus (USA)281−7
1970Dave Stockton (USA)279−1
1969Raymond Floyd (USA)276−8
1968Julius Boros (USA)2811
1967Don January (USA)281−7
1966Al Geiberger (USA)280E
1965Dave Marr (USA)280−4
1964Bobby Nichols (USA)271−9
1963Jack Nicklaus (USA)279−5
1962Gary Player (South Africa)278−2
1961Jerry Barber (USA)277−3
1960Jay Hebert (USA)2811
1959Bob Rosburg (USA)277−3
1958Dow Finsterwald (USA)276−4

More Golf Stats-

  1. Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the PGA Tour’s The Tradition
  2. Golf Stats: USA golfers who have won the Chevron Championship
  3. Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the LPGA’s Founders Cup