Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the PGA Tour’s The Tradition

The Tradition is a premier event on the PGA Tour Champions which was first conducted 34 years ago in 1989. It is regarded by the PGA Tour as one of the five top major golf championships. It is the sole senior major championship that does not grant the winner an exemption into a PGA Tour or European Tour event. The tournament’s location has changed several times since its inception in 1989. 

Initially held at the Cochise Golf Course of the Golf Club at Desert Mountain in Scottsdale, Arizona, it remained there until 2001. In 2002, the event took place at the Prospector Course of Superstition Mountain Golf & Country Club near Gold Canyon. In 2003, the Tradition moved to northwest Oregon for four years, and was played at the South Course of The Reserve Vineyards and Golf Club in Hillsboro, just west of Portland. 

From 2007 to 2010, the championship moved to central Oregon’s high desert at the Crosswater Club in Sunriver, south of Bend. In August 2010, Regions Financial Corporation, based in Birmingham, Alabama, announced its sponsorship of the tournament. Since relocating to Alabama in 2011, The Tradition has taken place in May and June. In 2016, the venue shifted from Shoal Creek to the nearby Greystone Golf and Country Club, where it is currently held on the recently renovated Greystone Founders Course.

Read More-Golf Stats: USA golfers who have won the Chevron Championship

Golfers who have won The Tradition event

Jack Nicklaus of the United States has won The Tradition for the maximum times, having claimed four titles in the years 1996, 1995, 1991, and 1990. While, Gil Morgan (1997 and 1998), Fred Funk (2008 and 2010), Tom Lehman (2011 and 2012), Bernhard Langer (2016 and 2017), and Steve Stricker (2019 and 2022) have clinched the title of The Tradition on two occasions. 

The Tradition 2023 marks the tenth PGA event of the season, featuring 78 golfers competing on the renowned Alabama course without a cut. The tournament is also referred to as the Regions Tradition due to its sponsorship, hosted at the Greystone Golf and Country Club in Birmingham, Alabama.

The participants include Bernhard Langer, Steve Stricker, Padraig Harrington, and David Toms, are among the other notable contenders. It is important to note that PGA Tour Champions events do not award Official World Golf Rankings points. With the 2023 edition of The Tradition set to take place in a few days, let’s take a look at the winners of the Tradition event.

YearWinner (Country)ScoreTo par
2022Steve Stricker (USA)267−21
2021Alex Čejka (Germany)270−18
2019Steve Stricker (USA)270−18
2018Miguel Ángel Jiménez (Spain)269−19
2017Bernhard Langer (Germany)268−20
2016Bernhard Langer (Germany)271−17
2015Jeff Maggert (USA)274−14
2014Kenny Perry (USA)281−7
2013David Frost (South Africa)272−16
2012Tom Lehman (USA)274−14
2011Tom Lehman (USA)275−13
2010Fred Funk (USA)276−12
2009Mike Reid (USA)272−16
2008Fred Funk (USA)269−19
2007Mark McNulty (Ireland)272−16
2006Eduardo Romero (Argentina)275−13
2005Loren Roberts (USA)273−15
2004Craig Stadler (USA)275−13
2003Tom Watson (USA)273−15
2002Jim Thorpe (USA)277−11
2001Doug Tewell (USA)265−23
2000Tom Kite (USA)280−8
1999Graham Marsh (Australia)136 (Game shortened due to snow)−8
1998Gil Morgan (USA)276−12
1997Gil Morgan (USA)266−22
1996Jack Nicklaus (USA)272−16
1995Jack Nicklaus (USA)276−12
1994Raymond Floyd (USA)271−17
1993Tom Shaw (USA)269−19
1992Lee Trevino (USA)274−14
1991Jack Nicklaus (USA)277−11
1990Jack Nicklaus (USA)206 (Game shortened due to rain)−10
1989Don Bies (USA)275−13

Like Athletics? Here are more Athletics Stats-

  1. Athletics Stats: Most Diamond League Titles won by an athlete
  2. Athletics Stats: Indian national record holders in track & field events
  3. Athletics Stats: Who are the Kenyan athletes banned for Doping?
  4. Athletics Stats: Winners of the Diamond League Doha 2023 event-wise