Golf Stats: USA golfers who have won the Chevron Championship

The Chevron Championship is a major women’s golf tournament held annually on the LPGA Tour. It has been held since 1972 and was elevated to the status of major in 1983. It is considered one of the most prominent events in women’s golf. The Chevron Championship constitutes one of the five majors played each year, along with the Women’s PGA Championship, the U.S. Women’s Open, the Women’s British Open, and The Evian Championship. 

The Chevron Championship usually serves as the year’s opening major. The tournament was founded by singer and actress Dinah Shore and Colgate-Palmolive chairman David Foster. It was initially a 54-hole event until 1982. It was the wealthiest event in women’s golf in its inaugural year. The tournament’s first edition invited all winners of tour events from the previous ten seasons. 

Title sponsor, Purse, and more 

Since its establishment, the event has been held at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, California, until 2022. It will be played for the first time in 2023 at The Club at Carlton Woods – Jack Nicklaus Signature Course in The Woodlands, Texas. Throughout its history, the Chevron Championship has had a number of title sponsors, including Nabisco and All Nippon Airways, who took over as the competition’s presenting partner in late 2014. 

The tournament was renamed The Chevron Championship in 2021 after Chevron Corporation signed to serve as the headline sponsor. The six-year sponsorship arrangement featured a prize fund increase from $3 million in 2021 to $5 million in 2022. The purse of the Chevron Championship 2023 is $5.1 million, an increase of $100,000 from the previous year.

USA golfers who have won the Chevron Championship title

Barbara Jane Blalock was the first winner of the Chevron Championship (previously known as Dinah Shore Colgate Winner’s Circle) in 1972. She, thus, earned the richest prize in women’s golf history. The tournament has witnessed 30 winners from the United States, claiming the coveted LPGA title. United States’ Amy Alcott, Betsy King, and Sweden’s Annika Sörenstam hold the record for the most triumphs in the circuit with three victories each. 

In 1974, 1984, 1987, 1992, and 2015, the winners from the USA – Jo Ann Prentice, Juli Inkster, Betsy King, Dottie Mochrie, and Brittany Lincicome, respectively, won in a playoff. In 2022, Jennifer Kupcho claimed the title and became a winner from the United States after seven years. The 2023 Chevron Championship will start on April 20 and run until April 23, 2023, at The Club at Carlton Woods in Texas. With the 2023 iteration beginning today, let’s take a look at the USA golfers who have won the Chevron Championship since its commencement.

YearChampionScoreTo par
1972Jane Blalock213−3
1973Mickey Wright284−4
1974Jo Ann Prentice2891
1975Sandra Palmer283−5
1976Judy Rankin285−3
1977Kathy Whitworth2891
1980Donna Caponi275−13
1981Nancy Lopez277−11
1983Amy Alcott282−6
1984Juli Inkster280−8
1985Alice Miller275−13
1986Pat Bradley280−8
1987Betsy King283−5
1988Amy Alcott274−14
1989Juli Inkster279−9
1990Betsy King283−5
1991Amy Alcott273−15
1992Dottie Mochrie279−9
1994Donna Andrews276−12
1995Nanci Bowen285−3
1996Patty Sheehan281−7
1997Betsy King276−12
1998Pat Hurst281−7
1999Dottie Pepper269−19
2007Morgan Pressel285−3
2009Brittany Lincicome279−9
2011Stacy Lewis275−13
2014Lexi Thompson274−14
2015Brittany Lincicome279−9
2022Jennifer Kupcho274−14

Like Athletics? Here are some Athletics stats-

1) Athletics Stats: African runners who have won the men’s race in London Marathon
2) Athletics Stats: USA women who have won the 400m hurdles event at the Olympics
3) Athletics Stats: Gold medalists from USA in the 100m sprint in Summer Olympics
4) Athletics Stats: Greatest Men Long Jumpers of all time
5) Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce Stats: What are her top ten best 100-meter timings?