F1 track statistics: All you need to know about Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps

The 7.004 km (4.352 mi) Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, also known as Spa, is a motor racing track in Stavelot, Belgium. It currently serves as the home of the Formula One Belgian Grand Prix, which first took place there in 1925 and has been held there annually since 1985. The 24 Hours of Spa, the World Endurance Championship, and the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps are just a few of the international competitions held in Spa. The Uniroyal Fun Cup 25 Hours of Spa, one of the world’s longest auto races, is held there as well.

The track has undergone numerous redesigns throughout its history, with the most significant one occurring in 1979 when the track was shortened from a 14.100 km (8.761 mi) permanent circuit to a 7.004 km (4.352 mi) temporary circuit due to safety concerns with the previous one. Despite its name, the circuit is actually outside of Spa and part of it is within the borders of Malmedy. It is located close to the town of Francorchamps and is part of the municipality of Stavelot.

The original course, which connected the Belgian towns of Francorchamps, Malmedy, and Stavelot using public roads, was created in 1920 by Jules de Thier and Henri Langlois Van Ophem. The track’s first race was supposed to take place in August 1921, but it was postponed because only one driver showed up. The circuit hosted its first automobile race in 1922, and the now-famous 24 Hours of Francorchamps race debuted there in 1924. In 1925, the track hosted its first Grand Prix race. Drivers were able to maintain higher average speeds on the original Spa-Francorchamps circuit than they were able to on other race tracks, making it essentially a speed course.

Track specifications

CityStavelot, Belgium
OpenedAugust 1921
Length7.004 km
F1 lap record1:46.286 (Valterri Bottas, Mercedes, 2018)

Most wins

Michael Schumacher is the most successful driver to have ever raced at the Spa-Francorchamps track with six wins to his name. The German legend is followed by Ayrton Senna who has won five races at the Stavelot circuit. Third place sees a three-way tie between Jim Clark, Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Raikkonen with four wins each.

Michael Schumacher6
Ayrton Senna5
Lewis Hamilton, Kimi Raikkonen, Jim Clark4

Most pole positions

Lewis Hamilton stands atop the Spa-Francorchamps pole position charts with six poles at the Stavelot circuit. In second place comes Hamilton’s idol Ayrton Senna with four poles. P3 sees a four way tie among Juan Manuel Fangio, Graham Hill, Alain Prost and Mika Hakkinen with three poles each.

Lewis Hamilton6
Ayrton Senna4
Juan Manuel Fangio, Graham Hill, Alain Prost, Mika Hakkinen3

Most successful constructors

Ferrari is the most successful constructor to have raced at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit is Ferrari with a whopping 18 wins to their name. McLaren comes in at P2 with 14 wins and Lotus completes the podium with eight wins.


Read More:

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Imola circuit

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Monaco

F1 stats: Top five Formula One drivers with the most fastest laps in history