F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

The 4.657 km (2.894 mi) Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is a motorsports track in Montmeló, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain. The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is regarded as an all-arounder circuit because of its lengthy straights and wide variety of corners. The track’s stands can accommodate 140,700 spectators. The track possesses an FIA Grade 1 licence. Prior to a sponsorship agreement with the City of Barcelona, the track’s name was only known as the Circuit de Catalunya until 2013. In 2013, a sponsorship agreement with Barcelona City Council changed the track’s name from Circuit de Catalunya to Circuit Barcelona.

After being constructed in 1991, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya started hosting the Spanish Grand Prix that same year. Additionally, the circuit’s construction took place at the same time as the Olympic Games, which would be held in Barcelona the following year and serve as the start and finish line for the road team time trial cycling competition. Contrary to popular belief, the Montjuc circuit is located within the city of Barcelona and should not be confused with the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, which hosted the Spanish Grand Prix four times between 1969 and 1975.

This circuit has seen a lot of testing, so Formula One drivers and mechanics are very familiar with it. Because of this, it has been argued that there is not enough action on the track because drivers and mechanics are too accustomed to Catalunya. When it was first introduced, overtaking was common because vehicles could follow each other closely through the final two turns and slipstream along the lengthy straight. This overtaking technique drastically diminished as aerodynamic balance became more crucial because the cars couldn’t follow each other through the fast final corner due to the turbulence caused by the leading car. In order to lower speeds through the final corner, where serious accidents could happen, the first of the two final sweepers was replaced in 2007 with a slow chicane.

Most wins

Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton are the two most successful drivers to have ever raced at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya with six wins each to their names. In second place comes Finnish motorsport legend Mika Hakkinen who has emerged victorious three times at the Spanish Grand Prix. Third place belongs to a number of drivers, all of who has won at the circuit twice. Nigel Mansell, Kimi Raikkonen, Fernando Alonso and Max Verstappen all come in at P3 with two wins each.

Michael Schumacher, Lewis Hamilton6
Mika Hakkinen3
Max Verstappen, Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Nigel Mansell2

Most pole positions

The driver with the most pole positions at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is none other than the seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher with seven poles to his name. Lewis Hamilton comes in at second with six pole positions. In third place, there is a joint standing among Kimi Raikkonen, Mika Hakkinen, Nico Rosberg and Mark Webber with two poles each.

DriverPole positions
Michael Schumacher7
Lewis Hamilton6
Mika Hakkinen, Kimi Raikkonen, Mark Webber, Nico Rosberg2

Most fastest laps

The two seven-time world champions, Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton are the only drivers to have ever earned more than one fastest lap at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. Schumacher holds the record with seven and Hamilton comes a close second with five.

DriverFastest laps
Michael Schumacher7
Lewis Hamilton5

Read More:

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Imola circuit

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Monaco

F1 stats: Top five Formula One drivers with the most fastest laps in history

F1 Stats: Most successful drivers in the Formula One Sprint format