F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez

The Autódromo Hermanos Rodrguez is a motorsport race track in Mexico City, Mexico, named after race drivers Ricardo (1942-1962) and Pedro Rodrguez (1940-1971). Ricardo Rodrguez died in practise for the non-championship 1962 Mexican Grand Prix, which gave rise to the circuit’s name. Pedro, Ricardo’s brother, was killed behind the wheel nine years later. Since 2015, the track has hosted the Formula One Mexican Grand Prix, which it previously hosted on two separate occasions on a different layout, the last time in 1992.

The circuit is located in the Magdalena Mixhuca Sports City public park in southeast Mexico City. The city owns the circuit, but it is currently operated under concession by Corporación Interamericana de Entretenimiento (CIE) via OCESA, one of CIE’s subsidiaries. CIE also organises the NASCAR and Desafo Corona races on this circuit and rents the circuits to other parties, such as race organisers, automobile clubs, and track amateurs, for fees that are contentious due to their disproportionately high amounts when compared to other ex-F1 courses.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series began racing at Autódromo Hermanos Rodrguez in 2005 and concluded in 2008. Denny Hamlin won the race in 2006, and Martin Truex Jr. won it in 2005. The chicane was removed for the 2007 race to increase passing opportunities down the front straight and into turn 1, and Juan Pablo Montoya of Bogotá, Colombia, won. In 2008, the race was won by Kyle Busch. In the 2006-07 season, the A1 Grand Prix series began racing at Autódromo Hermanos Rodrguez using the full-track configuration used by Formula One. The sprint race was won by Alex Yoong of Malaysia, and the feature race was won by Oliver Jarvis of the United Kingdom.

Track specifications

CityMexico City, Mexico
OpenedNovember 20, 1959
Length4.304 km
F1 lap record1:17.774 (Valterri Bottas, Mercedes, 2021)

Most wins

The reigning world champion, Max Verstappen, is the most successful driver at Mexico City with four wins to his name. Jim Clark occupies P2 with three wins while P3 belongs to Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell and Lewis Hamilton with two wins each.

Max Verstappen4
Jim Clark3
Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell, Lewis Hamilton2

Most pole positions

British driver Jim Clark is the man with the most poles at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez with four to his name. Ayrton Senna occupies P2 with three poles at the track while Nigel Mansell completes the podium with two poles.

Jim Clark4
Ayrton Senna3
Nigel Mansell2

Most successful constructors

Lotus and Red Bull Racing are the most successful constructor to have raced at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez with four wins to their names. McLarem, Williams and Mercedes come in at P2 with three wins each. Ferrari completes the podium with two wins.

Red Bull, Lotus4
McLaren, Williams, Mercedes3

Read More:

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Imola circuit

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Monaco

F1 stats: Top five Formula One drivers with the most fastest laps in history