BWF World Championships Stats: Nations who have dominated the event

The BWF World Championships, initially referred to as the IBF World Championships, stands as one of the most prominent events in the badminton world. Organized by the Badminton World Federation (BWF), this tournament often shares the spotlight with the Summer Olympics for the most ranking points up for grabs in badminton. The Olympics added badminton as an official sport in 1992.

At the BWF World Championships, gold medal winners earn the prestigious title of “World Champions” in their respective events. The inaugural competition took place in 1977 and continued every three years until 1983. However, the tournament faced challenges in its early years. The International Badminton Federation (IBF) had difficulties hosting the first two tournaments due to a rival competition held by the World Badminton Federation. Eventually, the two organizations merged, eliminating the confusion and duplication of efforts.

In 1985, organizers switched to a biennial schedule, holding the tournament every two years through 2005. In 2006, the BWF transitioned the championships to an annual event, except for Summer Olympic years, to avoid scheduling conflicts. As of 2022, athletes from 21 nations have earned at least a bronze medal. Most of these countries hail from Asia, with 11 nations, followed by Europe with eight. North America and Oceania have each contributed one country to the medal tally. Africa remains the only continent without a podium finish. Ratchanok Inthanon became the youngest-ever singles champion at the young age of 18.

Nations who have dominated the BWF World Championships

China is the most accomplished country in the history of the BWF World Championships. Having claimed 14 titles in MS, 15 in WS, 10 in MD, 22 in WD, and 10 in XD events. Indonesia and Denmark are the second and third most successful nations, with 79 and 65.5 titles in the tournament. On the other hand, South Korea and Japan stand fourth and fifth in the best nations standings.

4South Korea1057
12United States11
14Chinese Taipei09
15Hong Kong04
19New Zealand01

(Note: Here, Most Titles refer to most titles won in an event. In the case of two shuttlers from two different nations representing an event, a total of 0.5 is added to each nation’s tally. MS – Men’s Singles, WS – Women’s Singles, MD – Men’s Doubles, WD – Women’s Doubles, XD – Mixed Doubles)

More Badminton Stats-
1. Badminton Stats: Which are the nations that have won the Sudirman Cup?
2. Australian Open stats: Countries that have dominated the prestigious event
3. Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Indonesia Open title