FIVB Volleyball Women’s U21 World Championship Stats: List of past winners

The FIVB Women’s U21 World Championship is a global competition for young female volleyball players under the age of 21. Overseen by the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB), this championship is the premier event for emerging volleyball talents. Founded in France in April 1947, the FIVB is responsible for managing all international volleyball events.

The inaugural championship took place in Brazil in 1977. Originally, the tournament had a four-year gap between its first and second editions, which occurred in 1981 and 1985. However, since 1987, the event has followed a biennial format. Italy clinched the championship trophy in the most recent competition, co-hosted by Belgium and the Netherlands in 2021.

In a significant event, the FIVB decided in March 2022 to shift the age limit for participants from under-20 to under-21. This move aligns the women’s championship with its male counterpart event, the Men’s U21 World Championship.

Brazil is the most decorated nation in the FIVB Volleyball Women’s U21 World Championship, with six titles and finishing as runners-up five times. China is the second-best nation in the event, with three championships and three second-place finishes to their name. South Korea holds the third position in terms of overall achievements, having won the championship twice, along with two second-place and two third-place finishes.

The 2023 edition of the FIVB Volleyball Women’s U21 World Championship

The FIVB Volleyball Women’s U21 World Championship 2023 is underway in León and Aguascalientes in Mexico from August 17 to August 26, 2023. A total of 16 teams are participating in the competition from 5 different confederations. On January 24, 2023, Mexico was chosen as the host for the age-group tournament and thus, this is the fifth instance of the nation organizing the event.

List of Past Winners

Let’s look at the nations that have prevailed in the FIVB Volleyball Women’s U21 World Championship.

YearChampionsScoreRunners-up3rd place
Brazil (1977)South KoreaRRChinaJapan
Mexico (1981)South Korea3–1PeruJapan
Italy (1985)Cuba3–1JapanChina
Busan/Seoul (1987)Brazil3–0South KoreaChina
Peru (1989)Brazil3–2CubaJapan
Brno (1991)Soviet Union3–0BrazilJapan
Brasília/Campinas (1993)Cuba3–0UkraineSouth Korea
Bangkok (1995)China3–0BrazilRussia
Gdańsk (1997)Russia3–2ItalyChina
Edmonton/Saskatoon (1999)Russia3–0BrazilSouth Korea
Santo Domingo (2001)Brazil3–0South KoreaChina
Suphanburi (2003)Brazil3–2ChinaPoland
Ankara/İstanbul (2005)Brazil3–1Serbia and MontenegroChina
Nakhon Ratchasima (2007)Brazil3–1ChinaJapan
Mexicali/Tijuana (2009)Germany3–0Dominican RepublicBrazil
Lima/Trujillo (2011)Italy3–1BrazilChina
Brno (2013)China3–0JapanBrazil
Puerto Rico (2015)Dominican Republic3–2BrazilItaly
Boca del Río/Córdoba (2017)China3–0RussiaJapan
Aguascalientes/León (2019)Japan3–2ItalyRussia
Netherlands/Belgium (2021)Italy3–0SerbiaRussia

(Note – RR refers to Round robin format.)

More Volleyball Stats-
1. Women’s European Volleyball Championship Stats: Nations that have dominated the event
2. FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U19 World Championship stats: List of all winners
3. Volleyball Stats: A guide to everything about the FIVB Volleyball Men’s Nations League