Badminton Stats: Which are the nations that have won the Sudirman Cup?

The Sudirman Cup is one of the prestigious mixed team events organized by the Badminton World Federation (BWF), alongside the Thomas Cup, and Uber Cup. The inaugural edition of the Sudirman Cup took place in 1989 in Jakarta, Indonesia and the event has been held on a biennial basis since then. The tournament is named after Dick Sudirman who is a former Indonesian badminton player and the founder of Badminton Association of Indonesia (PBSI). He also served as the vice president of the International Badminton Federation (now Badminton World Federation) in 1975.

Originally, the cup and the Badminton World Championships were hosted at the same location within the same year. However, beginning in 2003, the BWF opted to separate the two events and created distinct venues for each. Each Sudirman Cup competition involves five matches, which includes both men’s and women’s singles and doubles, and a mixed doubles match. The team that wins three matches out of five emerges as the winner of the tie. The present competition format features a total of 16 teams, who qualify for the tournament depending on (i) continental qualifying tournaments, (ii) world team rankings, (iii) previous year champion, and (iv) host country.

Read More-Southeast Asian Games (SEA Games): Which country has won the most medals?

Nations that have dominated the tournament

China is the most dominant nation in the history of the Sudirman Cup, having won 12 titles, and is also the champion of the last edition (2021). In addition, they have finished as the runner-up on two occasions while being the semi-finalists thrice in the event. The second most successful team in the tournament is South Korea, having won the tournament three times besides being runner up on four occasions and eight-time semi-finalists . With one title in the inaugural edition, 6 runner-up and 7 semi-final achievements, Indonesia is the third most accomplished nation at the event.

The 2023 edition of the Sudirman Cup 2023 will kick off in Suzhou, China from May 14 and will run until May 21, 2023. The participating nations include China, Denmark, Singapore and Egypt in Group A, Indonesia Thailand Germany and Canada in Group B. Malaysia, Chinese Taipei India and Australia in Group C. Japan, South Korea, France and England in Group D. The host China is also the defending champion having won the 2021 edition that was held in Bantaa, Finland by defeating Japan 3-1 in the championship match.

Which are the nations that have won the Sudirman Cup?

Year (Host city and county)WinnerSecond PlaceSemi-finalists
1989 (Jakarta, Indonesia)IndonesiaSouth KoreaChina and Denmark
1991 (Copenhagen, Denmark)South KoreaIndonesiaChina and Denmark
1993 (Birmingham, England)South KoreaIndonesiaChina and Denmark
1995 (Lausanne, Switzerland)ChinaIndonesiaDenmark and South Korea
1997 (Glasgow, Scotland)ChinaSouth KoreaDenmark and Indonesia
1999 (Copenhagen, Denmark)ChinaDenmarkIndonesia and South Korea
2001 (Seville, Spain)ChinaIndonesiaDenmark and South Korea
2003 (Eindhoven, Netherlands)South KoreaChinaDenmark and Indonesia
2005 (Beijing, China)ChinaIndonesiaDenmark and South Korea
2007 (Glasgow, Scotland)ChinaIndonesiaEngland and South Korea
2009 (Guangzhou, China)ChinaSouth KoreaIndonesia and Malaysia
2011 (Qingdao, China)ChinaDenmarkIndonesia and South Korea
2013 (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)ChinaSouth KoreaDenmark and Thailand
2015 (Dongguan, China)ChinaJapanIndonesia and South Korea
2017 (Gold Coast, Australia)South KoreaChinaJapan and Thailand
2019 (Nanning, China)ChinaJapanIndonesia and Thailand
2021 (Vantaa, Finland)ChinaJapanSouth Korea and Malaysia

More Badminton Stats –
Asians who have won the Orleans Masters Badminton Tournament
Badminton Asia Championships: Indians who have won medals at the event
Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Swiss Open Title