Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Indonesia Open title

British military officers introduced badminton to India in the nineteenth century, and the sport immediately became popular among the Indian elite. As a result, the All India Badminton Association was founded in 1934. Over the years, India has given rise to several well-known badminton players who have won honors on the international stage. The first Indians to win the prestigious All England Open Badminton Championships were Prakash Padukone and Pullela Gopichand in 1980 and 2001, respectively.

With the rise of athletes like Saina Nehwal, PV Sindhu, Srikanth Kidambi, and the doubles team of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty, India has maintained its dominance in the sport. These athletes have had a great influence on the world stage, won several BWF tournaments, and brought laurels to the nation time and again.

Both Nehwal and Sindhu have won Olympic medals; Nehwal clinched the bronze in London in 2012, and Sindhu claimed the silver in Rio in 2016 and bronze in Tokyo in 2020. In the men’s competition, Srikanth is a former World no. 1, while Satwik and Chirag have scripted history on multiple occasions by becoming the first Indian men’s doubles pair to win a medal at the World Championships, the first Indians to win gold at the Badminton Asia Championships and a Commonwealth Games gold medalist.

About the Indonesia Open

Since 1982, the Badminton Association of Indonesia (PBSI) has been organizing the Indonesia Open, an annual badminton tournament. In 2007, it became a part of the BWF Super Series tournament and was later awarded Super Series Premier status in 2011. With the restructuring of the tournament into the BWF World Tour in 2018, it was designated as one of the prestigious Super 1000 level events. 

The Indonesia Open has been held in various cities across the country, including Pontianak, Samarinda, Bandung, Semarang, Yogyakarta, Medan, Surakarta, Denpasar, Surabaya, Batam, Badung Regency, and its present host city, Jakarta. As one of the most highly regarded badminton events, the Indonesia Open attracts top players from around the world.

Indian Shuttlers who have shown their dominance at the Indonesia Open

Let’s take a look at the Indian badminton players who have dominated in the history of the Indonesia Open.

1) Saina Nehwal

London Olympics bronze medalist Saina Nehwal is the most successful Indian athlete at the Indonesia Masters, having won successive titles in 2009 and 2010 and again in 2012. Saina is the first Indian to become the winner of the prestigious event in 2009. In the process, she defeated China’s Lin Wang by 12-21, 21-18, 21-9 to become the first Indian to win a BWF Super Series tournament. 

In 2010, Nehwal, who was the top seed at the time, showcased exceptional skills and defeated tough opponents like Ella Diehl, Erika Hirose, and Sayako Soto, emerging victorious in their encounters. The final match against Soto proved to be a challenging battle, but Saina’s perseverance paid off as she secured a hard-fought victory with a scoreline of 21-19, 13-21, 21-11. This triumph marked her second title in the tournament.

Two years later in 2012, Saina continued to make her mark in the Indonesia Open by winning her third championship title. In the final, she faced the formidable fourth seed Li Xuering from China. Despite losing the first game, Saina showcased her resilience and fought back with determination. She claimed victory by winning the next two games and ultimately won with a scoreline of 13-21, 22-20, 21-19, thus marking her third title in the event.

2) Srikanth Kidambi

Kidambi Srikanth made history by becoming the second Indian and the only Indian male player to win the Indonesian Open. Despite being an unseeded player in the tournament, Srikanth pulled off a remarkable upset by defeating fourth seed Jan Jorgensen and second seed Son Wan-Ho of South Korea on his path to the title. In the final match, Srikanth continued his impressive form. He faced Japanese player Kazumasa Sakai and dominated the game, securing a relatively easier victory with a scoreline of 21-11, 21-19. 

Read More-
1) Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Thailand Open title
2) Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Malaysia Masters title
3) Badminton Stats: List of all time winners of Malaysia Masters
4) Badminton Stats: Which are the nations that have won the Sudirman Cup?