Top 10 scores in Indian Premier League history

Indian Premier League has been a huge success over the years and one of the reasons behind this is the huge scores teams have put up from time to time. IPL teams have managed to cross the 200-run barrier quite frequently, which makes it very entertaining for viewers and fans around the globe. With grounds being small and pitches flat in Indian conditions, teams have hammered some pretty high scores over the years and it comes as no surprise that the highest team score in IPL history belongs to Royal Challengers Bangalore. Chris Gayle changed how T20 cricket was played with his aggressive and powerful approach at the top of the order.

Royal Challengers Bangalore created history in the year 2013 against Pune Warriors India. Batting first, RCB smashed 263 runs on the back of a record-breaking 175* by Chris Gayle, RCB smashed the highest score in IPL history of 263/5, the score remains the highest team score to date in the IPL and the bar has been set quite high by the West Indian Legend. The strike rates of batters have only gone up and teams have started to take an aggressive approach right from ball one which has resulted in some high 1st innings scores. Let’s now have a peek into some high scores achieved in the Indian Premier League history.

Read More: David Warner to lead Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2023

List of Top 10 first innings scores in IPL

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore 263/5 vs Pune Warriors

Royal Challengers Bangalore lead the charts for the Highest Team Score In IPL History by smacking 263 Runs with the loss of 5 wickets against Pune Warriors India in April 2013 at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Chris Gayle top scored with 175* (66 Balls), this innings included 13 boundaries and 17 maximums.

2. Royal Challengers Bangalore 248/3 vs Gujarat Lions

Royal Challengers Bangalore take the second spot as well, they scored 248 with the loss of 3 wickets against Gujarat Lions in May 2016 at their home ground, the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium. AB de Villiers top scored with 129* (52 Balls) which included 10 boundaries and 12 maximums.

3. Chennai Super Kings 246/5 vs Rajasthan Royals

Chennai Super Kings occupies the third place on the list of highest 1st innings team scores, CSK scored 246 Runs with the loss of 5 wickets against Rajasthan Royals in April 2010 at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Murali Vijay top scored with 127 (56 Balls) which included 8 boundaries and 11 maximums.

4. Kolkata Knight Riders 245/6 vs Kings XI Punjab

Kolkata Knight Riders are in fourth place, they scored 245 runs against Kings XI Punjab on 12 May 2018 at Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore.

5. Chennai Super Kings 240/5 vs Kings XI Punjab

Chennai Super Kings take fifth place as well, they hammered 240 Runs with the loss of 5 wickets against Kings XI Punjab in April 2008 at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh. Michael Hussey top scored with a brilliant 116* (54 Balls).

6. Royal Challengers Bangalore 235/1 vs Mumbai Indians

Royal Challengers Bangalore the sixth place as well on the charts, they cracked 235 runs with the loss of only 1 wicket against Mumbai Indians on 10 May 2015 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. AB de Villiers was the star with the bat for RCB, he hammered 133* (59 Balls) which included 19 boundaries and 6 maximums. Virat Kohli also smashed 82* (50 Balls).

7. Kings XI Punjab 232/2 vs RCB

Kings XI Punjab occupies the seventh place on the list, they scored 232 runs with the loss of 2 wickets against Royal Challengers Bangalore on 17 May 2011 at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamshala. Adam Gilchrist top scored 106 (55 Balls).

8. Kolkata Knight Riders vs 232/2 vs Mumbai Indians

Kolkata Knight Riders scored 232 Runs with the loss of 2 wickets against Mumbai Indians on 28 April 2019 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

9. Delhi Daredevils 232/2 vs Kings XI Punjab

Delhi Capitals, formerly known as the Delhi Daredevils scored 231 runs back in April 2011 against an in-form Kings XI Punjab at Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. Virender Sehwag and David Warner scored 77 runs each and scripted a win for their team.

10. Kings XI Punjab 231/4 vs CSK

Kings XI Punjab scored 231 Runs with the loss of 4 wickets against Chennai Super Kings in May 2014 at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack. Glenn Maxwell scored a brilliant 90 (38 Balls) which included 4 boundaries and 8 maximums.

Read More: Delhi Capitals Women, WPL 2023: Schedule, Teams News, Venues, Squad, And Predicted Playing XI

Top 10 IPL 1st innings scores


Stay tuned as we get you all the interesting stats about the Indian Premier League.