FIFA: Players with Most Ballon D’Ors

Ballon D’Or is an annual award given to the best player in a calendar year. Initiated in 1956, the tradition of Ballon D’Or is one of the most treasured and keenly awaited moment for a football fan. Here are the players with the most Ballon D’Ors ever.

Data Last Updated: August 10, 2022
S. No.PlayerYears ActivePositionNumber of Ballon D'OrsYears when won
1Lionel Messi2003-2022Right Winger72009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021
2Cristiano Ronaldo2002-2022Left Winger52008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017
3Michel Platini1972-1987Attacking Midfielder31983, 1984, 1985
4Johan Cruyff1964-1984Attacking Midfielder31971, 1973, 1974
5Marco van Basten1981-1995Centre Forward31988, 1989, 1992
6Franz Beckenbauer1964-1983Centre Back21972, 1976
7Ronaldo1993-2011Centre Forward21997, 2002
8Alfredo di Stefano1945-1966Second Striker21957, 1959
9Kevin Keegan1968-1985Centre Forward21978, 1979
10Karl-Heinz Rummenigge1974-1989Centre Forward21980, 1981
11Luis Suarez1953-1973Attacking Midfielder11960
12Eusebio1957-1980Centre Forward11965
13Bobby Charlton1956-1980Attacking Midfielder11966
14Zinedine Zidane1989-2006Attacking Midfielder11998
15Gerd Muller1963-1981Centre Forward11970

Lionel Messi is the undisputed holder of this record with seven Ballon D’Ors to his name. He is followed by his long time rival, Cristiano Ronaldo who has five.