FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U19 World Championship stats: List of all winners

The FIVB Volleyball Girls U19 World Championship is the world championship for U-19 players organised by the FIVB. The first edition was held in Brazil in 1989 and since then the tournaments have been held every two years. The 2021 edition was hosted by Mexico in Durango City and won by Russia. In 2022, the FIVB Board of Administration decides to change the age category of the tournament by moving it from U18 to U19. This decision of FIVB equated the Girl’s tournament with the Boys. A corresponding tournament for male players is the FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship.

Nations that have excelled at the elite competition

China has excelled at the highest level for the most number of times. The Chinese girls have won the coveted FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U19 World Championship on four occasions. Additionally, China has also been the runner-up in the 2011 edition which was held in Ankara. It won an additional bronze medal in the 2015 edition held in Lima. Apart from China, Brazil is the second most successful with three titles and four runners-up. The Italians come in the third position when it comes in terms of the medal tally. Italy has been runner-up on three occasions. They have won the title two times. While to complete the medal tally, Italians also have two bronze medals.

The 2023 edition of the FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U19 World Championship

The 2023 FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U19 World Championship will be the 18th edition of the FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U19 World Championship. The biennial international youth volleyball championship was contested by the women’s national teams under the age of 19 of the member associations of the FIVB.FIVB is the sport’s global governing body. It will be held in Croatia and Hungary from 1 to 11 August 2023. There will be 24 national teams in contention. The 11-day tournament will have Osijek (Croatia) and Szeged (Hungary), as the two host cities for the 104 matches that will be held in the event. For the start of the tournament, which will for the first time be co-hosted by two nations, the 24 national teams were split into four pools.

List of all winners at the FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U19 World Championship

As the 2023 edition is underway, the winners of the previous editions of the tournament are listed below:

Host and YearChampionRunners-upFinal Scoreline3rd Place
Curitiba / Foz do Iguaçu 1989Soviet UnionBrazil3-2Japan
Lisbon 1991South KoreaBrazil3-0Soviet Union
Bratislava 1993RussiaJapan3-0South Korea
Orléans 1995JapanRussia3-1Italy
Chiang Mai 1997BrazilRussia3-0Italy
Funchal 1999JapanBrazil3-0South Korea
Pula / Rijeka 2001ChinaBrazil3-1Poland
Piła 2003ChinaItaly3-2Brazil
Macau 2005BrazilRussia3-0Italy
Mexicali / Tijuana 2007ChinaTurkey3-1Russia
Nakhon Ratchasima 2009BrazilSerbia3-1Belgium
Ankara 2011TurkeyChina3-0Serbia
Nakhon Ratchasima 2013ChinaUnited States3-0Brazil
Lima 2015ItalyUnited States3-0China
Rosario / Santa Fe 2017ItalyDominican Republic3-1Russia
Cairo 2019United StatesItaly3-2Brazil
Durango City 2021RussiaItaly3-0United States

Read more stats over here:

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.