FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship stats: List of all winners

The FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship is the premier competition for young male volleyball players under the age of 19. Organized by the Fédération Internationale de Volleyball (FIVB), this biennial event is a prominent event in the sport for emerging talents. Initially known as the FIVB Volleyball Boys’ Youth World Championship from 2007 to 2011, the championship underwent a name change but continues to develop and celebrate the young talents.

The championship was inaugurated for the first time in 1989 when the first tournament was held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The first iteration saw Brazil claiming the top spot as they defeated the Soviet Union by 3-1 in the final. Since that beginning, the competition has been conducted every two years without interruption. 

Nations that have excelled at the elite competition

Having won six golds and one runner-up title, Brazil is the most accomplished team in the history of the FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship. Other than Brazil, Russia, and Iran occupy the second and third spots in the list of most successful teams in the competition. Russia’s medal tally includes three gold, two runner-ups, and third spot placement, while Iran has collected two gold, two runner-up, and three third-place positions in the event.

The 2023 edition of the FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship

The FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship 2023 got underway in San Juan of Argentina on August 2 and will continue until August 11, 2023. Poland will be back to defend their title, having won the last edition by getting past Bulgaria in a comprehensive win by 3-0 to claim the top position at the podium. A total of 20 teams are competing in this edition of the biennial event.

List of all winners at the FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship

With the 2023 edition already taking place, let’s take a look at the nations that have won the previous editions at the prestigious event.

Host and YearChampionsRunners-upFinal Score3rd place
Dubai 1989BrazilSoviet Union3–1Bulgaria
Porto 1991BrazilSoviet Union3–1South Korea
Istanbul 1993BrazilJapan3–0South Korea
San Juan 1995BrazilItaly3–0Japan
Tehran 1997ItalyGreece3–0Japan
Riyadh 1999RussiaVenezuela3–1Poland
Cairo 2001BrazilIran3–0Russia
Suphanburi 2003BrazilIndia3–0Iran
Algiers / Oran 2005RussiaBrazil3–2Italy
Mexicali / Tijuana 2007IranChina3–2France
Bassano del Grappa / Jesolo 2009SerbiaIran3–2Argentina
Bahía Blanca / Burzaco 2011SerbiaSpain3–2Cuba
Mexicali / Tijuana 2013RussiaChina3–1Poland
Corrientes / Resistencia 2015PolandArgentina3–2Iran
Riffa 2017IranRussia3–1Japan
Tunis / Radès 2019ItalyRussia3–1Argentina
Tehran 2021PolandBulgaria3–0Iran

More Volleyball Stats-
1. Volleyball Stats: A guide to everything about the FIVB Volleyball Women’s Nations League
2. Volleyball Stats: Nations that have won Men’s Volleyball U21 World Championship
3. Volleyball Stats: A guide to everything about the FIVB Volleyball Men’s Nations League