Pro Wrestling

Top 5 Wrestlers with the Most WWE World Heavyweight Championship Reigns in History

The World Heavyweight Championship was a professional wrestling world heavyweight championship in WWE. It was established by WWE in 2002 after WWE bought out World Championship Wrestling (WCW) and Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW), and split its roster into two brands, Raw and SmackDown!, in a brand extension. WWE’s original world title, the WWE Championship, with which the WCW World Heavyweight Championship had been unified in 2001, was designated to the SmackDown! brand; as a result the World Heavyweight Championship was established for the Raw brand. 

The World Heavyweight Championship is not a continuation of the WCW World Heavyweight Championship, but rather its indirect successor. For a list of champions who have held those titles, see the list of WCW World Heavyweight Champions and list of NWA World Heavyweight Champions respectively. At the TLC pay-per-view on December 15, 2013, when WWE Champion Randy Orton defeated World Heavyweight Champion John Cena, the World Heavyweight Championship was unified with the WWE Championship, resulting in the retiring of the former, and the renaming of the latter to the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. Let’s have a look at the five wrestlers with the most WWE World Heavyweight Championship Reigns.

The Undertaker

A World Championship was not necessary for The Undertaker to become a legendary figure in the WWE. Nevertheless, throughout his stint in the WWE, The Phenom claimed the World Heavyweight Championship three times. Batista and Edge were defeated by The Undertaker at back-to-back WrestleManias to win the title. Additionally, he defeated CM Punk during his final defense of the World Heavyweight Championship. 

The World Heavyweight Championship was the main event in some spectacular matches that The Deadman had. The Undertaker and Batista feud was perhaps the best of 2007 thanks to their tough fights. Although the World Heavyweight Championship held by the WWE Hall of Famer wasn’t as remarkable as Triple H’s, he nevertheless contributed to its history.  John Cena and Chris Jericho also reigned the World Heavyweight Championship thrice in their career. 

Randy Orton  

The majority of Randy Orton’s heyday in the WWE was spent in the World Title Scene. He is placed so high on the list as a result. 14 World Title reigns in total, including 4 World Heavyweight Title reigns and 10 WWE Title reigns, belong to Orton. Although Orton was more effective as a heel, his best World Title reign occurred in 2011 while he was a babyface. Just five days after Christian won the World Heavyweight Title, he defeated him and took it. At Over The Limit, Capitol Punishment, and Money in the Bank, where Orton lost the championship, the two engaged in some excellent competition.


During the Ruthless Aggression Era, Batista was one of the biggest names. He has won the World Heavyweight Championship four times, making him a 6-time World Champion. However, Batista had his strongest World Title run while he was a WWE Champion. He is more commonly connected with the World Heavyweight Title. Out of all of his reigns, his subsequent WWE Title reign distinguishes him. Although the presidency hadn’t been extremely lengthy, it was immensely enjoyable and successful. During his time using the spotlight persona, Batista delivered some excellent speeches, and to cap off an outstanding run, he defeated John Cena in a fantastic match at WrestleMania 26.

Triple H   

Triple H spent the majority of his career competing in big events. From 1999 to 2005, HHH nearly always held the world championship. He has won the WWE Title nine times and the World Heavyweight Title five times, making him a 14-time World Champion. Hunter’s third WWE Title reign in 2000, which also happened to be one of his best years in his career, was his best World Title reign. He and Cactus Jack engaged in a fantastic feud that produced two of the greatest fights in Royal Rumble and No Way Out history. At Backlash, The Rock put a stop to the incredible reign.


It took Edge a while to win his first World Championship in the WWE. He made his debut in 1998, but it wasn’t until 2006 that he earned his first World Title. Despite his poor start, Edge went on to amass 11 world championships, winning the World Heavyweight Title seven times and the WWE Title four times. Since Edge was one of the top World Heavyweight Champions, it is not surprising that his 2007 title reign was the finest.

At Armageddon 2007, Edge defeated Batista and The Undertaker in a triple threat match to win the championship. Before losing the belt to The Undertaker in another thrilling encounter at WrestleMania 24, which put an end to his amazing title run, he subsequently had a number of successful matches against Rey Mysterio at the Royal Rumble and No Way Out in 2008.

NameNo. of Reigns
Triple H5
Randy Orton 4
The Undertaker3
John Cena3
Chris Jericho3

For more WWE news

Roman Reigns – On WWE Night of Champions 2023, Roman Reigns reached a massive milestone

Cody Rhodes – WWE hall of Famer thinks Cody Rhodes should turn heel

Get the latest from by following us on Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube.