Pro Wrestling

Top 5 oldest WWE World Heavyweight Champions in the history

The most prestigious championship in professional wrestling is the WWE Championship. Over the course of 145 reigns since it was initially revealed on April 25, 1963, 54 different superstars have held the title. The first champion was Buddy Rogers, who received the title after claiming victory in a fictitious competition in Rio de Janeiro. In his sixth reign, Brock Lesnar is the current champion. The five oldest WWE World Heavyweight Champions in the organization’s history are listed below, ranked by age. 

Brock Lesnar

Brock Lesnar, aka The Beast Incarnate, is first on our list. He was 44 years, 7 months, and 7 days old when he won the WWE Championship at Elimination Chamber 2022. Ironically, Lesnar owns the distinction for being the youngest champion and is currently the fifth-oldest WWE champion, having won the championship at age 25 during his first reign. He defeated The Rock and became the second-fastest WWE Superstar since his 126-day debut to win the WWE title. At WrestleMania 38, The Beast Incarnate will face the Universal Champion Roman Reigns in a Title vs. Title Winner Takes All Match to defend his WWE championship.

Bob Backlund  

Bob Backlund defeated Bret Hart to capture the WWE Championship at Survivor Series 1994 at the age of 45 years, 3 months, and 9 days. The unique requirement of this submission match was that the title could not be changed until the manager of a celebrity quit the match in the middle of it. Backlund had previously reigned. But he later lost the championship to Diesel at a non-televised home show at Madison Square Garden three days later. After defeating Superstar Billy Graham at Madison Square Garden on February 20, 1978, Backlund began his first tenure as champion. He had the second-longest tenure in the title’s history, lasting 2135 days.

Bobby Lashley  

The All Mighty famously defeated The Miz in a lumberjack match on the March 1, 2020 episode of RAW to claim his first WWE Championship. After defeating Braun Strowman in a number-one contender’s match, he earned the right to participate. At Royal Rumble 2022, Lashley defeated Brock Lesnar to win the WWE championship at the age of 45 years, 6 months, and 14 days. This began his second reign. Twenty-one days later, in the Elimination Chamber, he lost the crown.

Hulk Hogan   

Six times, The Immortal Hulk Hogan has held the legendary WWE Championship. On January 23, 1984, he defeated the Iron Sheikh to win the championship, which he retained for four years before dropping it to Andre the Giant on February 5, 1988. Hogan was declared the next challenger for Triple H’s WWE championship by Vince McMahon on the SmackDown programme from March 4, 2002. Hogan’s signature red-and-yellow attire made its comeback in this episode for the first time since he changed sides at WCW in 1996. Backlash was to host their contest. At the pay-per-view, Hogan submitted Triple H to win the WWE championship for the sixth time. He had a lifespan of 48 years, 8 months, and 10 days.

Vince McMahon  

The only time the WWE Chairman has won the WWE Championship was on the SmackDown programme from September 14, 1999, when he vanquished Triple H. Shane McMahon served as the special guest referee during their contest. By adamantly challenging Vince to a title bout, Triple H issued the challenge. Initially hesitant, Vince refused until Hunter made a remark about his wife Linda. 

This infuriated McMahon to the point that he simply pounded HHH down to begin the match.  Hunter’s chair blow to Vince’s head and subsequent barrage of blows directed at Triple H were enough for Shane. Chyna intervened to thwart Shane’s assault, and she and Triple H violently stomped McMahon. In an effort to halt Triple H and save McMahon, Linda then entered the room with Pat Patterson and Jerry Brisco. 

Chyna compelled Linda to watch Triple H attack Vince while she was being held. Stone Cold then The appearance of Steve Austin startled Hunter. As Austin pulled Vince over a prone Triple H, Shane counted the pinfall. The WWE championship was won by Vince McMahon when he was 54 years and 27 days old.

Vince Mcmahon54 years and 27 days old
Hulk Hogan 48 years, 8 months, and 10 days
Bobby Lashley45 years, 6 months, and 14 days
Bob Backlund45 years, 3 months, and 9 days
Brock Lesnar44 years, 7 months, and 7 days

For more WWE news

Roman Reigns – On WWE Night of Champions 2023, Roman Reigns reached a massive milestone

Cody Rhodes – WWE hall of Famer thinks Cody Rhodes should turn heel

Get the latest from by following us on Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube.