Pro Wrestling

Top 5 oldest WWE Champions in the history

Most of the best wrestlers in WWE’s lengthy history have won the World Championship. However, wrestling differs from other sports in that wrestlers often reach their prime in their mid- to late-20s and retire before the age of 40. In the squared circle, however, it is practically the complete reverse, with wrestlers often not reaching their peak and prime years until well into their 30s. As a result, a lot of wrestlers have won the title of World Champion near the middle or even the end of their careers. Even now, wrestlers like Brock Lesnar, Bobby Lashley, and AJ Styles—all of whom are 45 or older—are among the greatest in the world. But which WWE member is the oldest to hold a world championship? The WWE, Universal, World Heavyweight, ECW (2006–2010), and WCW (2001) Championships are the only Titles that can be won within the WWE.

Hulk Hogan 

One of the biggest and finest WWE Champions of all time, The Hulkster’s final reign in 2002 was marred by widespread nostalgia as a result of his return to the organization. On April 21 at Backlash, he defeated Triple H to win the Title, but he only retained it for a month.


Big Bill Goldberg made his victorious return to the WWE in 2016, ultimately overcoming Kevin Owens at Fastlane for the Universal Title on March 5, 2017, to set up a rematch with Brock Lesnar at WrestleMania the following month.


In contrast to his second attempt, Goldberg’s initial attempt with the Title was not favourably appreciated. He was obviously a part-timer at this point and too old to carry the belt. The only real effect of his victory over Bray Wyatt for the same belt at Super ShowDown on February 27, 2020, was to further degrade “The Fiend” character.

Vince McMahon 

WWE had a strange year in 1999. The WWE Championship and the Royal Rumble were both won by Vince. On the Smackdown programme airing on September 14, 2020, he defeated his archrival and adversary at the moment, Triple H, to win the title. Four days after that, on Raw, he gave up the Title. Worthwhile?

Vince McMahon 

The only person who can defeat Vince McMahon is Vince McMahon, my friend! For the ECW Title at Backlash on April 29, 2007, the former WWE Chairman defeated Bobby Lashley in a 3-on-1 handicap match with Umaga and Shane as his partners. In terms of the plot, this was a retaliation for Lashley’s part in getting Vince shaved bald at WrestleMania 23, but in actuality, it contributed to the demise of the ECW Title and the brand as a whole.

Vince Mcmahon61 years, 8 months, 19 days
Vince Mcmahon54 years, 21 days
Goldberg53 years, 2 months, 14 days
Goldberg50 years, 2 months, 20 days
Hulk Hogan48 years, 8 months, 10 days

For more WWE news

Roman Reigns – On WWE Night of Champions 2023, Roman Reigns reached a massive milestone

Cody Rhodes – WWE hall of Famer thinks Cody Rhodes should turn heel

Get the latest from by following us on Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube.