Pro Wrestling

The longest women title reigns in WWE history

The majority of wrestlers hope to have such an impact on the sport that their names will endure long after they are no longer there. Creating a memorable persona, putting on amazing matches, or finding oneself in the heart of a well-known (or infamous) plot are a few ways to achieve this. They might even strive to win a couple of championships along the way. No matter the promotion, winning championships shows that you’ve succeeded. You are at the top of your division and at the top of your game, and you will go down in history. Obviously, this is where the true difficulty lies. 

Climbing to the summit of the mountain and passing the former champion is one thing, but holding that position when surrounded by hungry challengers is quite another. Over the years, some haven’t been able to keep their position for very long, while others have made it seem simple to be in charge. The WWE has proudly hosted numerous lengthy title reigns throughout its history, which spans more than fifty years. But here are a few of the longest title reigns held by women in WWE history. 

Rockin’ Robin: 502 days

She made her professional wrestling debut at Survivor Series 1987 in one of the event’s defining tag matches, and she swiftly rose to the top of the women’s rankings. She would finally clash with Sherri Martel, the WWF Women’s Champion at the time, ending her reign after more than a year, as a result. The transformation took place during a WWF event in Paris, France, on October 7, 1988, beginning a reign that would span 502 days. In the months that followed, Rockin’ Robin established herself as a formidable fighter. 

Kay Lee Ray: 649 days

In the ensuing 649 days, Kay Lee Ray bravely faced every foe. Toni Storm made two attempts to make amends, but she was never able to get her stolen gold back. As 2020 gave way to 2021, people like Piper Niven and Jinny joined her, and for a little moment it appeared that Meiko Satomura would follow suit. On March 4, 2021, she had her first attempt at winning the championship; however, her second attempt was far more successful. On June 10, 2021, Satomura dethroned Ray as champion, opening the door for a protracted winning streak that saw her defeat Amale, Xia Brookside, and many more.

The Glamour Girls: 906 Days

The NWA World Women’s Tag Team Championships were sold by the National Wrestling Alliance to the World Wrestling Federation in 1983. Princess Victoria and Velvet McIntyre held the titles when they were legally incorporated into the WWF. The next year, Judy Martin and Leilani Kai’s team would not only get the titles, but they would also hold them for the longest period of time—about 906 days—becoming the team that did so. 

Throughout 1987, they fought bitterly with Itsuki Yamazaki and Noriyo Tateno, also known as the Jumping Bomb Angels. At the 1988 WWF Royal Rumble, they would eventually lose the championships to their lifelong foes, only to win them back a few months later, just before the WWF retired the titles. 

The Fabulous Moolah: 10,170 days

To put it mildly, The Fabulous Moolah is a controversial figure in wrestling, but it doesn’t entirely take away from her successes in the ring. In 1956 when she triumphed in a match and won the World Women’s Championship of the Nation Wrestling Alliance, a title she later acquired in the 1970s and took to the WWF in the early 1980s. Moolah claimed to have held the WWF Women’s Championship for 28 years before it was rebranded. At The Brawl to End it All in 1984, Wendi Richter had the opportunity to terminate such a run and took full advantage of it, ending Moolah’s reign at 10,170 days and unintentionally clearing the path for the first WWF screwjob.

NameTitleNo. of days
The Fabulous MoolahWWF Women’s Champion10,170
The Glamour GirlsWWF World Women’s Tag Team Champions906
Kay Lee RayWWE NXT United Kingdom Women’s Champion649
Rockin’ RobinWWF Women’s Champion502