Home / Olympics / Paris Olympics 2024: Gulveer Singh shatters NR in 10000 m, misses Olympic Quota

Paris Olympics 2024: Gulveer Singh shatters NR in 10000 m, misses Olympic Quota

Asian Games bronze medallist athlete Gulveer Singh shattered a 16-year-old national record in the men’s 10,000m to finish second in his heat at The Ten in San Juan Capistrano in California. The 25-year-old clocked 27.41.81 on Saturday to better the earlier national mark of 28:02.89 by over 20 seconds that stood in Surendra Singh’s name since 2008.

However, Gulveer’s effort was not enough for Olympic qualification as he missed the Paris Games qualification time of 27:00.00 by over 41 seconds. The other Indian in the heat, Kartik Kumar, finished ninth in the race with a timing of 28:01.90, which was also better than Surendra’s earlier national record.

Avinash Sable, who was competing in the same event, did not finish (DNF) his heat, pulling out of the race in the 15th lap at the 6,000m mark. In the women’s 10,000m, Parul Chaudhary finished a disappointing 20th, clocking 32:02.08. She too missed the Paris qualification, which stands at 30:40.00.

Read more: 2024 Paris Olympics: Ram Baboo joins six other Indians qualifying for Olympics in men’s 20km race walk

List of all the athletes who have qualified for the Paris Olympics


Sl No.AthleteCategory
1.Dhiraj BommadevaraMen’s individual Recurve


India has made rapid strides in the field of athletics in recent years. Naturally, this time also India has sent a strong contingent led by defending Olympian Neeraj Chopra. Along with Neeraj, there are other seasoned athletes as well with the likes of Kishore Kumar JenaAvinash Sable and Parul Chaudhary in the fray.

Sl No.AthleteCategory
1.Suraj PanwarMen’s 20 m Race Walk
2.Vikash SinghMen’s 20 km Race Walk
3.Paramjeet BishtMen’s 20 km Race Walk
4.Akashdeep SinghMen’s 20 km Race Walk
5.Priyanka GoswamiWomen’s 20 km Race Walk
6.Neeraj ChopraMen’s Javelin Throw
7.Kishore Kumar JenaMen’s Javelin Throw
8.Murali SreeshankarMen’s Long Jump
9.Avinash SableMen’s 3000 m Steeplechase
10.Parul ChaudharyWomen’s 3000 m Steeplechase
11.Ram BabooMen’s 20km race walk
12.Arshpreet SinghMen’s 20km race walk
13. Servin SebastianMen’s 20km race walk

Read more: US Men’s Paris Olympic 2024 Golf Team Selection Sharpens post-Players Championship


19 Indian shooters have secured qualification quotas for the Paris Olympics 2024. However, NRAI the national sports body shall decide the athletes boarding the flight for Paris after several qualification scenarios.

Sl No.AthleteCategory
1Bhowneesh MendirattaMen’s Trap
2Rajeshwari KumariWomen’s Trap
3Rudrankksh PatilMen’s 10 m Air Rifle
4Mehuli GhoshWomen’s 10 m Air Rifle
5Swapnil KusaleMen’s 50 m rifle 3 positions
6Akhil SheoranMen’s 50 m rifle 3 positions
7Sift Kaur SamraWomen’s 50 m rifle 3 positions
8Shriyanka SidangiWomen’s 50 m Rifle 3 Position
9Sarabjot SinghMen’s 10 m Air Pistol
10Manu BhakerWomen’s 25 m Air Pistol
11Arjun BabutaMen’s 10 m Air Rifle
12Tilottama SenWomen’s 10 m Air Rifle
13Anish BhanwalaMen’s 25 m Rapid Fire Pistol
14Varun TomarMen’s 10 m Air Pistol
15Esha SinghWomen’s 10 m Air Pistol
16Rhythm SangwanWomen’s 25 m Pistol
17Vijayveer SidhuMen’s 25m Rapid Fire Pistol
18Raiza DhillonWomen’s Skeet
19Anantjeet Singh NarukaMen’s Skeet


After the Asian Games 2023, four Indian boxers have booked their spots for the Olympics. Unlike other sports, the pugilists have acquired themselves the quota. If the boxers in any categories are injured then in that case the boxers can be replaced.

Sl No.AthleteCategory
1Nikhat ZareenWomen’s 51 kg
2Lovlina BorgohainWomen’s 75 kg
3Preeti PawarWomen’s 54 kg
4Parveen HoodaWomen’s 57 kg

Read more: Paris Paralympics 2024: Aruna Tanwar books her ticket to Paris


Antim Panghal after winning a bronze medal at World Wrestling Championships 2023 secured India its first Olympics quota in wrestling. The 19-year-old became the sixth Indian women’s wrestler to win a medal at the World Championships. Before the Paris Olympics 2024, trials will be held in each weight category where India can secure a medal for the final list of contingent taking part.

Sl No.AthleteCategory
1.Antim PanghalWomen’s 53 kg


The Indian men’s hockey team secured a direct entry into the Paris Olympics after beating Japan in the final of the Asian Games 2023. Harmanpreet Singh led the side and dominated play throughout the quadrennial sporting event.

  1. Indian men’s hockey team

Read more: US Men’s Paris Olympic 2024 Golf Team Selection Sharpens post-Players Championship


Anush Agarwalla, who won a historic individual bronze medal at the 2023 Asian Games, has secured a Paris Olympic quota for the country in dressage discipline.

Sl No.AthleteCategory
1.Anush AgarwallaDressage


Vishnu Saravanan secured India’s first sailing spot for the upcoming 2024 Paris Olympics at the ILCA 7 Men’s World Championship held in Australia. Over a six-day event at the Adelaide Sailing Club, Saravanan scored a net total of 125 points, placing him 26th overall but importantly placing fifth among sailors competing for Olympic slots.

Sl No.AthleteCategory
1.Vishnu Saravanan Men’s One-Person Dinghy

Table Tennis

Indian men’s and women’s teams have secured historic table tennis quotas for the upcoming Paris Olympics 2024. Both men’s and women’s teams are set to take part in the grand event based on their rankings. While the men’s team were positioned 15th, the women’s team were ranked 13th.

Read more: Gulveer Singh surpasses 16-year national 10000m record but misses Olympic qualification for Paris

 Get the latest from Sportslumo.com by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.


Hi everyone, this is Soumyaroop Mukherjee. I am a student of journalism and a budding writer. The world of writing has always enthralled me beyond anything and I believe in the power of the pen which is always mightier than the sword. Talking about my interests, I like to write mostly in the sports genre which can include hardcore sports like cricket and football to adrenaline sports like F1 and NASCAR. Apart from this I also like poetry and web series in my off time.