Top five most successful Renault/Alpine drivers in Formula One

With a history spanning more than five decades, Renault (presently Alpine) is one of the most important teams in Formula One history. They might have won only two constructor’s championships so far, the French outfits contribution to the sport cannot be understated. Renault has been a part of 403 races so far (until the 2023 Saudi Arabian GP) and they’ve won 35 of them, ending up on the podium a total of 103 times. The team’s best period was from 2005 to 2006, when they won two driver’s and constructor’s world championship titles. Renault was the team that ended the Ferrari dominance of the late 90s to early 2000s which saw the great Michael Schumacher in five driver’s championships.

Renault has been home to some of the greatest drivers of all time. The likes of Alain Prost, Rene Arnoux, Giancarlo Fischella and a certain Fernando Alonso, were all part of the outfit. Their greatest driver, so far, is the Spaniard. It was Alonso that led the team to both of their world championship wins. It begs the question if the Spaniard could have won even more championships had he decided to stay at Renault after the 2006 season. So, without further ado, ere are the five most successful Renault drivers in Formula One history.

Fernando Alonso

Undoubtedly, Renault’s greatest ever driver so far in their history s Fernando Alonso. The Spaniard is the one that led the team to their only two constructor’s and driver’s championship wins in 2005 and 2006. Alonso joined Renault as a test driver in 2002, grabbing the main seat the following season. In 2005, the Spaniard was on the podium in 15 of the 19 races to win his and his team’s maiden world championship. He repeated the feat the following year, recording 14 podiums in 18 races. He was also a part of Alpine after he decided to come out of retirement in 2021, and won one podium in two seasons.

Races with RenaultWinsWorld Championships

Alain Prost

In the beginning of his career, Frenchman Alain Prost spent quite a few years with Renault, coming close to winning a world championship with the French outfit. Prost was a part of the Renault team from 1981 to 1983. In that time, he took part in 46 races and won nine. His best season with the team was in 1983 when he won four our of 15 races and finished second in the driver’s championship.

Races with RenaultWinsWorld Championships

Rene Arnoux

Rene Arnoux was a part of Renault for four years, and was Prost’s teammate. Arnoux was a part of the team from 1979 to 1982 during which time he participated in 58 races and won four. Although he could never win a world championship, Arnoux is considered a legend when it comes to the French constructor as he was one of the first people to brig success to team shortly after its inception. His best season with the team was 1982 when he won twice and was on the podiums four times, to finish P6 in the driver’s championship.

Races with RenaultWinsWorld Championships

Giancarlo Fisichella

Giancarlo Fisichella was a part of Renault in the latter stages of his Formula One career. The Italian was a part of the French outfit from 2005 to 2007. He took part in 53 races and won two, finishing on the podium a total of eight times. His best season with the team was 2006, when he fourth in the driver’s championship with 72 points. He was a part of the Renault team that won two successive constructor’s championships in 2005 and 2006.

Races with RenaultWinsWorld Championships

Jean-Pierre Jabouille

The late Jean-Pierre Jabouille was a part of Renault from 1977 to 1980. The Frenchman, who sadly passed away on February 2, 2023, took part in 45 races with the team and won two. His best season with Renault came in 1980, which saw him win one race and finish eighth in the driver’s world championship.

Races with RenaultWinsWorld Championships

Most successful Renault F1 drivers

DriverRaces with RenaultWinsWorld Championships with Renault
Fernando Alonso105172
Alain Prost4690
Rene Arnoux5840
Giancarlo Fisichella5320
Jean-Pierre Jabouille4520

Renault World Championships

DriverTitle winning years
Fernando Alonso2005, 2006