Top five most successful Red Bull Racing drivers in Formula One

With five constructor’s world championships in the bag, Red Bull Racing are a force to be reckoned with in Formula One today. Once a constant part of the mid-field, the Milton-Keynes based Formula One team has established themselves as one of the most successful teams of all time, on par with the likes of Ferrari, Mercedes and McLaren. Today, Red Bull is the most dominant team in F1, with Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez both performing consistently on a very high level. The 2010s was defined by the battle between them and Mercedes, which the latter won for the most part. However, at the start of the new decade, Red Bull have turned over a new leaf and today, Christian Horner’s men seem absolutely unstoppable.

Their most successful period so far was from 2010 to 2013 which saw them win for consecutive driver’s and constructor’s world championship titles with Sebastian Vettel. Their latest triumph came in 2022 where Max Verstappen was crowned the world champion for the second time and the team won the constructor’s title after nine years. So far into 2023, it seems like Red Bull will win a sixth and with the kind of form Verstappen is in, they could very well beat the Mercedes record in the coming years. So is Verstappen the greatest ever driver for the team? Here we take a look at the five most successful drivers the team has ever had.

Sebastian Vettel

Sebastian Vettel is arguably one of the greatest drivers in the history of motorsport. In his long career in Formula One, the German has won four driver’s championship titles with Red Bull from 2010 to 2013. He was the man who was at the front during the team’s most successful period and is considered as the greatest red Bull driver as of now. Vettel made 113 race starts for Red Bull, winning 38.

Races with Red BullWinsWorld Championships

Max Verstappen

Max Verstappen is the man that finally broke the Mercedes curse, to the delight of Christian Horner. The Dutchman is already a two time world champion and is performing at the absolute highest level. He is undoubtedly in the form of his life right now and it seems like there is no one who can match up to his level anytime soon. The 25-year-old, won his first world title in dramatic fashion, beating Lewis Hamilton in the last lap of the final race of the 2021 season.

Races with Red Bull (until the 2023 Saudi Arabian GP)WinsWorld Championships

Daniel Ricciardo

Daniel Ricciardo was considered to be a prodigy when he made his debut in Formula One. With Red Bull, the Australian took his career to new highs, competing for regular podiums and winning races. Although he later decided to quit the team for Renault, his time at Red Bull is usually looked upon fondly by fans. The Aussie was left without a seat for 2023, so he went back to the team as a reserve driver.

Races with Red BullWinsWorld Championships

Mark Webber

It seems like Red Bull have a soft spot for Australian drivers. Apart from Ricciardo, Mark Webber was another Aussie who really made his mark in F1 with the Milton-Keynes based team. Webber competed in a total of 129 races from 2007 to 2013 during which he picked up nine victories. He was, however, mainly looked at as the second driver after Vettel made his breakthrough.

Races with Red BullWinsWorld Championships

Sergio Perez

Ever since Ricciardo bid his farewell to Red Bull to go to Renault, Christian Horner was faced with a problem that haunted him for the better part of a couple of years. Both of the Aussie’s replacements, Pierre Gasly and Alex Albon, failed to perform under pressure which could be one of the reasons why Mercedes were so dominant in the 2010s. In 2021, the team appointed Sergio Perez as the second drive and things have been smooth sailing since then. The Mexican has competed in 46 races (till the 2023 Saudi Arabian GP) and managed to win four of them.

Races with Red Bull (until the 2023 Saudi Arabian GP)WinsWorld Championships

Red Bull world champions

DriversChampionship winning years
Sebastian Vettel2010, 2011, 2012, 2013
Max Verstappen2021, 2022