Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Player Stats, Team Stats and more

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Yas Marina circuit

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix takes place at the Yas Marina Circuit. Hermann Tilke designed the circuit, which is located on Yas Island near Abu Dhabi, the capital of the United Arab Emirates. Yas Marina was the second of four Formula One tracks in the Middle East, following tracks in Bahrain, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia. To officially open the circuit, a two-day GP2 Asia Series test was held a week before the 2009 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. In February 2010, it also hosted the opening round of the Australian V8 Supercars series, the Yas V8 400.

The circuit is on Yas Island, a headland separated from the mainland by a canal. It has sixteen corners and several straights, and it passes by the marina and the Yas Hotel Abu Dhabi, which was designed by Asymptote Architecture’s Hani Rashid and Lise Anne Couture in New York, with facade lighting by Rogier van der Heide. The track has five grandstand areas (Main Grandstand, West Grandstand, North Grandstand, South Grandstand, and Marina Grandstand), and a portion of the pit lane exit runs beneath the track. Behind the pit building is a team building, a media centre, a dragster track and a VIP tower. Furthermore, one of the run-off areas is located beneath the West grandstand.

The circuit was built under contract from developer Aldar Properties by main contractor Cebarco-WCT WLL. KOH AH HING (KAHBINA) from Malaysia (structural contractor) was among the subcontractors involved, as were specialised subcontractors such as Voltas (MEP), PKE-Siemens (MEP), Able-Middle East (earthworks), Hamilton International (interior), and Bau Bickhardt (track), to name a few. The circuit was built with a permanent lighting system supplied by Musco Lighting, similar to the one used at Qatar’s Losail International Circuit. Yas Marina Circuit is the world’s largest permanent sports venue lighting project; previously, Losail International Circuit held the title.

Track specifications

CityYas Island, Abu Dhabi, UAE
OpenedOctober, 2009
Length5.281 km
F1 lap record1:26.103 (Max Verstappen, Red Bull, 2021)

Most wins

Formula One legend Lewis Hamilton is the most successful driver at Yas Marina with five wins to his name. Max Verstappen and Sebastian Vettel occupy P2 with three wins each.

Lewis Hamilton5
Max Verstappen, Sebastian Vettel3

Most pole positions

British driver Lewis Hamilton is the man with the most poles at Yas Marina with five to his name. Max Verstappen occupies P2 with three poles at the track while Nico Rosberg and Sebastian Vettel completes the podium with two poles each.

Lewis Hamilton5
Max Verstappen3
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Vettel2

Most successful constructors

Mercedes and Red Bull are the most successful constructor to have raced at Yas Marina with six wins each to their names.

Mercedes, Red Bull6

Read More:

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Imola circuit

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Monaco

F1 stats: Top five Formula One drivers with the most fastest laps in history