F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Silverstone Circuit

The Royal Automobile Club organises the British Grand Prix, a Grand Prix auto race, in the United Kingdom. The British Grand Prix was first run in 1926; it has been held each year since 1948 and has been a round of the FIA Formula One World Championship since 1950. The British Racing Drivers’ Club (BRDC) has managed all British Grands Prix held at Silverstone since the RAC first delegated race organisation to the BRDC in 1952, following the transfer of the lease of the Silverstone Circuit to the BRDC. Currently, the British Grand Prix is held at the Silverstone Circuit, which is close to the English village of Silverstone in Northamptonshire. Since the competition’s first season in 1950, the race has been run as a World Championship event 70 times. The 2019 race also marked the 53rd time that Silverstone has hosted a World Championship round.

The British Grand Prix was not scheduled to take place at Silverstone in 2005, according to British Racing Drivers’ Club president Jackie Stewart, who made the announcement on September 30, 2004. The British Grand Prix will continue to be held at the track through 2009, when Donington Park will take over as the new host, according to an agreement reached on December 9 with former Formula One rights holder Bernie Ecclestone. However, the Donington Park leaseholders, Donington Ventures Leisure, experienced severe financial difficulties and entered administration, which led to the BRDC and Ecclestone agreeing to a 17-year agreement for Silverstone to host the British Grand Prix.

Due to a break clause in their contract that was triggered by the BRDC due to the British Grand Prix’s rising costs, the 2019 British Grand Prix would be the last to take place at the Silverstone Circuit. Long-term negotiations with Liberty Media resulted in a new agreement for Silverstone to continue hosting the British Grand Prix for an additional five years after 2019. This is despite rumours of a street race in London.

Most wins

Arguably the greatest British driver of all time, Lewis Hamilton, is the man with the most number of wins at the Silverstone Circuit with eight. The seven-time world champion is followed by the pair of Jim Clark and Alain Prost who have won five races each at the venue. Nigel Mansell occupies P3 with four wins to his name.

Lewis Hamilton8
Jim Clark, Alain Prost5
Nigel Mansell4

Most pole positions

Lewis Hamilton once again occupies top spot with seven pole positions to his name at his home circuit. Coming in at second place ins his arch rival and former teammate Fernando Alonso with three poles along with Jim Clark, Nigel Mansell and Damon Hill. There are quite a few drivers who have come in at P3 with two Silverstone poles. These include the likes of Rene Arnoux, Mika Hakkinen and Valterri Bottas to name a few.

Lewis Hamilton7
Jim Clark, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, Fernando Alonso3
Rene Arnoux, Mika Hakkinen, Valterri Bottas and a number of other drivers2

Most successful constructors

Ferrari is the most successful team to have ever taken part at the British Grand Prix with a whopping 18 wins to their name. McLaren comes in at second with 14 followed by Williams with 10.


Read More:

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Imola circuit

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Monaco

F1 stats: Top five Formula One drivers with the most fastest laps in history