F1 track statistics: All you need to know about Circuit Gilles Villeneuve

The Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, also known as the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve, is a 4.361-kilometer (2.710-mile) motor racing circuit in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. It hosts the FIA Formula One Canadian Grand Prix. The FIA World Sportscar Championship, the Champ Car World Series, the NASCAR Pinty’s Series, the NASCAR Xfinity Series, and the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series have all been held there in the past. The Canadian Grand Prix was held at the circuit for the first time in 1978, with hometown hero Gilles Villeneuve (1950-1982) winning for Scuderia Ferrari. The race quickly became a fixture on the Formula One calendar, and it was held in Montreal for the next thirty years.

Previously held in late September, the event was relocated to its current mid-June date on the calendar in 1982 to provide a warmer, more pleasant race weekend. Over the years, many great races have taken place at the track, cementing its reputation as a truly unpredictable venue. After running for over two decades, the race was dropped from the 2009 Formula One calendar and replaced by the inaugural Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Quebec officials and Canadian Grand Prix organisers announced a settlement with Formula One Administration on November 27, 2009, and signed a new five-year contract spanning the 2010-2014 seasons.

The circuit, originally known as the Île Notre-Dame Circuit, was built and completed in 1978. The FIA Formula One Canadian Grand Prix had been part of the Formula One World Championship for ten years, and it had previously been held at Mosport Park near Toronto on eight occasions, and the Mont-Tremblant circuit in Quebec in 1968 and 1970. With safety concerns at Mosport blighting the 1977 event, it was decided to relocate the race to Montréal’s new circuit. Following the death of Canadian Formula One driver Gilles Villeneuve, father of Jacques Villeneuve, earlier that year, it was renamed in 1982.

Track specifications

CityMontreal, Canada
OpenedOctober 6, 1978
Length4.361 km
F1 lap record1:13.078 (Valterri Bottas, Mercedes, 2019)

Most wins

The two seven-time world champions, Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton are the two most successful drivers at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve with seven wins each. Nelson Piquet comes in at second with three wins to his name at the track. The pair of Sebastian Vettel and Ayrton Senna finish the top three with two wins each to their respective names.

Lewis Hamilton, Michael Schumacher7
Nelson Piquet3
Ayrton Senna, Sebastian Vettel2

Most pole positions

Lewis Hamilton and Michael Schumacher are once again on top with six pole positions each. Four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel started the race from P1 five times in his career and comes in at P2. Nelson Piquet and Ayrton Senna occupy third place with three pole positions each to their respective names

Lewis Hamilton, Michael Schumacher6
Sebastian Vettel5
Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna3

Most successful constructors

With 11 wins to their name at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Ferrari is the most successful team of the Canadian Grand Prix. They are, however, closely followed by McLaren in P2 with nine wins. Williams completes the podium with seven victories at the track.


Read More:

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Imola circuit

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Monaco

F1 stats: Top five Formula One drivers with the most fastest laps in history