Lewis Hamilton stats: Season by season breakdown of the Brit’s seven title winning years by the numbers

The first black man to win a Formula One world championship, the first man to cross triple figures when it comes to podiums and wins, the man with the most pole positions in Formula One. There are countless records that the great Lewis Hamilton has broken and set over the course of his incredible career in the pinnacle of motorsport. He is a seven-time world champion and undoubtedly the greatest driver of this generation. At a time when nobody thought beating Michael Schumacher’s record was possible, Hamilton came roaring onto the track and smashed absolutely every record ever set by the German. The only thing he is left to do, is win that historic eighth world championship title.

Hamilton made his debut in Formula One in 2007 with McLaren. It only took the then 22-year-old driver a year to get accustomed to the sport as the very next season, he won his first driver’s world championship. At the time, the Stevenage-born Briton was the youngest ever driver to win a world championship. After 2008, quite a few years passed where Hamilton did not challenge for the title, and then came his move to Mercedes. Since joining for the Silver Arrows in 2013, Hamilton has won six world championships in 10 seasons so far and while he has been beaten to that eighth a couple of times, there is no sign of him stopping until he makes that record his.

In this article, we take a look at how Hamilton performed in each of his championship winning seasons as we delve into the stats of the same and take a look at his growth at the very top of Formula One.

2008 season – McLaren

Lewis Hamilton defeated Brazilian Felipe Massa to claim the Drivers’ Championship by a single point, while Massa’s teammate and 2007 World Champion Kimi Raikkonen finished third with two victories. Hamilton passed Toyota’s Timo Glock on the final lap of the season’s final Grand Prix to secure the necessary 5th-place finish. Hamilton became the first black driver to ever win the Drivers’ title and the youngest driver overall when he did so. Additionally, he was the first British winner since Damon Hill in 1996.


2014 season – Mercedes

With 384 points and 11 victories, Hamilton won the World Drivers’ Championship for the second time. Hamilton defeated teammate Nico Rosberg, who finished with 317 points and 5 victories, to end Red Bull’s four-year championship dominance. Mercedes finished the season with 701 points, 296 points, and won their first World Constructors’ Championship in Russia.


2015 season – Mercedes

With three races remaining in the season, Hamilton won his third Drivers’ Championship. His teammate Nico Rosberg finished second, 59 points behind him, and Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari finished third, another 44 points back. The 2015 Constructors’ Championship was won by the Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team. With a total of 11 pole positions throughout the season, Hamilton also took home the Fastest Lap Award and the FIA Pole Trophy.


2017 season – Mercedes

The genuine inter-team title fight resumed in 2017 after half a decade. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari’s lead driver, led the championship for the first 12 rounds of the season and remained competitive throughout the entire 20-race schedule, giving Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes plenty to deal with. Hamilton won the World Drivers’ Championship for the fourth time at the championship’s end. Valtteri Bottas and Sebastian Vettel, who were in second and third place, respectively, by a combined 46 points, finished behind Hamilton.


2018 season – Mercedes

The season featured a title race between Mercedes and Ferrari for the second year in a row. Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel, two four-time World Champions, served as the primary Championship challengers in 2018. At the 2018 Mexican Grand Prix, Hamilton won his fifth World Drivers’ Championship title. The following race, the team won the World Constructors’ Championship for the fifth time in a row. Sebastian Vettel, a Ferrari driver, came in second, 88 points behind Hamilton.


2019 season – Mercedes

For the second consecutive year, Lewis Hamilton successfully defended the World Drivers’ Championship, winning his sixth championship at the United States Grand Prix. At the Japanese Grand Prix, Mercedes successfully defended its World Constructors’ Championship, winning it for a record-tying sixth consecutive year, tying Ferrari’s run from 1999 to 2004. The 1000th World Championship race, the 2019 Chinese Grand Prix, was also run during the 2019 season.


2020 season – Mercedes

Originally scheduled to begin in March, the championship was delayed until July due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 22 Grands Prix were scheduled to take place during the season, but only 17 of them actually took place due to cancellations and new races being added in their place. The Austrian Grand Prix served as the opening race of the season, which concluded with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in December.

At the Turkish Grand Prix, Hamilton matched Michael Schumacher’s record of seven World Drivers’ Championships. At the Portuguese Grand Prix, Hamilton surpassed Schumacher’s previous mark of 91 career victories. Mercedes won the constructors’ championship for the seventh time in a row at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, breaking Ferrari’s record of seven straight victories from 1999 to 2004.


Lewis Hamilton’s championship winning seasons’ stats