Golf Stats: Non-British golfers who conquered the British Masters

The British Masters is a golf competition that has been an important event in the competitive golfing calendar since its founding in 1946. The Dunlop Masters was one of the previous names of the competition. The title “British Masters” hasn’t changed despite the tournament’s several name changes over the years. Since its beginning, the tournament has been held annually and has had many sponsors.

The Dunlop Masters, which made its appearance in 1946 at Stoneham Golf Club in Southampton, is an extension of the Dunlop-Metropolitan Tournament that had taken place before World War II. The Dunlop Masters was an end-of-season tournament with 72 holes and a small field of competitors. Dunlop supported the competition financially from 1946 to 1982, with the field featuring a limited number of participants and no 36-hole cut. During its prime in the 1980s, the British Masters was one of the most profitable competitions on the European Tour. However, its popularity and award money have diminished over the past few years.

Sponsorships of British Masters

The British Masters have been hosted at numerous locations over the years, including twice in the Republic of Ireland. The Quinn Group took up sponsorship of the tournament in 2006, transferring it to the Belfry, a building owned by the business. Unfortunately, attempts to find a new sponsor failed after the Quinn Group’s sponsorship terminated in 2008. The British Masters was therefore temporarily dropped from the 2009 European Tour schedule, and the competition wasn’t conducted until 2014.

The tournament returned in 2015 with a fresh format. Each edition of the British Masters since then has been hosted by a prominent British golfer who selects the golf course and serves as the event’s host. Notable golfers who have hosted include Ian Poulter, Luke Donald, Lee Westwood, Justin Rose, Tommy Fleetwood, Danny Willett, and Nick Faldo. The 2023 edition of the British Masters has already begun, with the start on June 29, 2023, and is set to conclude on July 2, 2023. As the tournament has witnessed many winners from British origin, let’s take a look at the non-British winners of the tournament who have earned a place for themselves in the tournament’s history.

Who are the non-British winners of the British Masters golf tournament?

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin
2022Thorbjørn Olesen (Denmark)278−101 stroke
2020Renato Paratore (Italy)266−183 strokes
2019Marcus Kinhult (Sweden)272−161 stroke
2016Alex Norén (Sweden)266−182 strokes
2008Gonzalo Fernández-Castaño (Spain)276−12Playoff
2006Johan Edfors (Sweden)277−111 stroke
2005Thomas Bjørn (Denmark)282−6Playoff
2001Thomas Levet (France)274−14Playoff
1999Bob May (United States)269−191 stroke
1997Greg Turner (New Zealand)275−131 stroke
1996Robert Allenby (Australia)284−4Playoff
1991Seve Ballesteros (Spain)275−133 strokes
1987Mark McNulty (Zimbabwe)274−141 stroke
1986Seve Ballesteros (Spain)275−132 strokes
1985Lee Trevino (United States)278−103 strokes
1982Greg Norman (Australia)267−178 strokes
1981Greg Norman (Australia)273−154 strokes
1980Bernhard Langer (Germany)270−145 strokes
1979Graham Marsh (Australia)283−51 stroke
1977Guy Hunt (Australia)2917Playoff
1976Baldovino Dassù (Italy)271−131 stroke
1972Bob Charles (New Zealand)277−112 strokes
1969Cobie Legrange (South Africa)2813 strokes
1968Peter Thomson (Australia)2745 strokes
1964Cobie Legrange (South Africa)2881 stroke
1961Peter Thomson (Australia)2848 strokes
1954Bobby Locke (South Africa)2913 strokes
1948Norman Von Nida (Australia)2722 strokes
1946Jimmy Adams (Australia), Bobby Locke (South Africa)286Title shared

More Golf Stats-