F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the temple of speed, Monza

North of Milan, in Italy, the Monza Circuit is a 5.793 km (3.600 mi) long race track. It was the first purpose-built motor racing circuit in mainland Europe and, after Brooklands and Indianapolis, the third in the world when it was built in 1922. The Italian Grand Prix is the biggest race on the circuit. The race has been held there since 1949 with the exception of the 1980 event. The site has three tracks: the 5.793 km (3.600 mi) Grand Prix track, the 2.405 km (1.494 mi) Junior track, and a 4.250 km (2.641 mi) high-speed oval track with steep bankings that had been abandoned for decades and been decaying. All three tracks were built in the Royal Villa of Monza park in a woodland setting.

The 1000 km Monza endurance sports car race, which was a part of the World Sportscar Championship and the Le Mans Series, was previously held at the circuit in addition to the Formula One. The unusual Race of Two Worlds competitions, which attempted to pit Formula One and USAC National Championship cars against one another, were also held at Monza. The racecourse has additionally hosted events for the WTCC, TCR International Series, Superbike World Championship, Formula Renault 3.5 Series, Auto GP and Grand Prix motorcycle racing (Italian motorcycle Grand Prix). Currently, Monza serves as the venue for races in the Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup, International GT Open, and Euroformula Open Championship, in addition to a number of regional competitions.

52 drivers and 35 spectators have lost their lives on Monza, a very fast track, in numerous fatal crashes, many of which occurred in the early years of the Formula One world championship. The track has consistently undergone modifications to increase spectator safety and lower curve speeds, but current drivers still complain about the lack of run-off areas, most notably at the chicane that splits the Variante della Roggia. The Milan Automobile Club funded the construction of the first track, which took 3,500 workers from May to July 1922. To operate the track, the Milan Automobile Club established the Società Incremento Automobilismo e Sport (SIAS). A 3.4 square kilometre (1.31 square mile) site with 10 km (6.2 mi) of macadamized road comprised the initial form.

Track specifications

CityMonza, Italy
OpenedSeptember 3, 1922
Length5.793 km
F1 lap record1:21.046 (Rubens Barrichello, Ferrari, 2004)

Most wins

The two seven-time world champions, Lewis Hamilton and Michael Schumacher, are the most successful drivers at the temple of speed with five wins each to their names. Nelson Piquet occupies a lone P2 with four wins while P3 is stacked with drivers like Alain Prost, Sebastian Vettel, Juan Manuel Fangio and others, all of who have earned three wins each.

Michael Schumacher, Lewis Hamilton5
Nelson Piquet4
Tazio Nuvolari, Alberto Ascari, Juan Manuel Fangio, Stirling Moss, Ronnie Peterson, Alain Prost, Rubens Barrichello, Sebastian Vettel3

Most pole positions

British driver Lewis Hamilton is the man with the most poles at Monza with seven to his name. Juan Manuel Fangio and Ayrton Senna occupy P2 with five poles at the track while the likes of Jim Clark, John Surtees, Michael Schumacher, Juan Manuel Fangio and Sebastian Vettel have three poles each.

Lewis Hamilton7
Ayrton Senna, Juan Manuel Fangio5
Jim Clark, John Surtees, Michael Schumacher, Juan Pablo Montoya, Sebastian Vettel3

Most successful constructors

Ferrari is the most successful constructor to have raced at the Monza circuit is Ferrari with 20 wins to their name. McLaren comes in at P2 with 11 wins and Mercedes completes the podium with nine wins.


Read More:

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Imola circuit

F1 track statistics: All you need to know about the Circuit de Monaco

F1 stats: Top five Formula One drivers with the most fastest laps in history