Hockey Stats: Winners of the men’s & women’s FIH Hockey Pro League year-wise

From the year 2012 to 2017, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) organized the FIH Hockey World League for both men and women. The tournament worked as a platform to qualify for the Hockey World Cups in 2014 and 2018 and the Olympic Games in 2016. The tournament had three seasons conducted in 2012-13, 2014-15, and 2016-17, before it was replaced by the today’s FIH Pro League and FIH Hockey Series.

The format for the FIH Hockey World League was such that the FIH chose the number of events and teams for each of the four rounds of this competition. Events for Round 1 change according to the competing teams, who are organized into geographical groups, with European teams competing in several tournaments. Regional limitations are not applied to subsequent rounds. Top-ranked teams earn a bye to either Round 2 or a Semifinal event, with the specific round varying by edition, as determined per the FIH World Rankings when entries are accepted.

What is the format of the tournament?

Nine teams will compete against one another in this round-robin tournament from October to June in both home and away games. The top four competitors advanced to the grand final that occurred at a selected location. The home and away principle remained but was extended into two consecutive seasons beginning with the 2020 edition. For example, in 2020, Team A will host Team B for two matches in a row, and Team B will respond by hosting Team A for two games in 2021. 

The grand finale format which featured a final game and third place match in 2019 was changed to group rank format from 2020 onwards. The team with the lowest final standing will be relegated starting in the 2021-22 season. The relegated team’s place will be replaced by the winner of the FIH Nations Cup. The FIH Nations Cup serves as a qualification event for the FIH Pro League. In case of cancellation of one of the two matches between two teams, the team which has won the other game will earn double points.

Read More-Hockey Stats: Which country has won the highest Men’s Asian Champions Trophy titles?

Know about the 2022- 2023 FIH Pro League tournament and upcoming events

The 2022- 2023 FIH Hockey Pro League is the fourth edition of the event. The men’s competition began in October, while the women’s competition started in November. Both the events will conclude in July. As of now, India is leading the men’s FIH Hockey Pro League table with 5 wins and 19 points. On the other hand, Argentina is the topper in the women’s FIH Hockey Pro League table with 7 wins and 23 points.

On April 28, 2023, FIH announced the season 5 of the FIH Hockey Pro League which will commence on December 6, 2023, in Santiago del Estero, Argentina. The season 5 of the hockey competition will feature seven mini-tournaments spanning from late 2023 to mid-2024. For the first time, the Pro League will introduce the relegation/promotion principle. As a result, India’s women’s team and Ireland’s men’s team, who qualified through the inaugural FIH Hockey Nations Cup, will join the league. The last-place teams in both the women’s and men’s leagues will face relegation at the end of the season.

The season 5 title winner will have a direct qualification for the Women’s and Men’s Hockey World Cup to be held in 2026. The competition schedule is as follows: Santiago del Estero, Argentina (December 6-11, 2023); Buenos Aires, Argentina (February 14-19, 2024); Rourkela, India (February 10-25, 2024); Antwerp, Belgium (May 23 – June 2, 2024); Lee Valley, Great Britain (June 1-12, 2024); Utrecht, Netherlands (June 22-25, 2024); and Amsterdam, Netherlands (June 22-30, 2024). With this, let’s take a look at the Winners of the Men’s and Women’s FIH Pro League by season.

Men’s FIH Pro League – Winners by season

YearFormatChampionsRunners Up
2019Final and Third Place matchAustraliaBelgium
2020 – 2021Final Group RankBelgiumAustralia
2021 – 2022Final Group RankNetherlandsBelgium

Women’s FIH Pro League – Winners by season

YearFormatChampionsRunners Up
2019Final and Third Place matchNetherlandsAustralia
2020 – 2021Final Group RankNetherlandsArgentina
2021 – 2022Final Group RankArgentinaNetherlands

More Hockey Stats –
1) Occasions when Indian Hockey Team won medals at the Olympics
2) Hockey Stats: Which country has won the highest Men’s Asian Champions Trophy titles?
3) Hockey Stats: Which country has won the highest Men’s Asian Champions Trophy titles?