Wyndham Championship Stats: USA golfers to have won the prestigious tournament

The Wyndham Championship, North Carolina’s long standing professional golf tournament, traces its roots back to 1938, making it the seventh-oldest non-major event on the PGA Tour. Initially known as the Greater Greensboro Open, it takes place annually at the Sedgefield Country Club, a course designed by Donald Ross.

The year 2007 brought significant changes as Wyndham Hotels & Resorts took control over the role of title sponsor from DaimlerChrysler, leading to a name change to the Wyndham Championship and a shift in the schedule from autumn to mid-August. This tournament now marks the final opportunity for golfers to qualify for the FedEx Cup Playoffs and maintain their tour status.

With an illustrious 83-year legacy, this PGA Tour event boasts past champions such as Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Gary Player, and Seve Ballesteros, with 18 of the former winners being members of the World Golf Hall of Fame. Uniquely, the Wyndham Championship is the only regular season PGA Tour event held on a course that was originally designed by Donald Ross.

The 2023 edition of the competition

The Wyndham Championship 2023, scheduled for August 2-6, will serve as the 84th installment of the state’s most senior professional golf event. Taking place at the Sedgefield Country Club, this tournament offers the final opportunity for players not yet in the FedEx Cup top 70 to qualify for the initial event of the three season-ending tournaments, the FedEx St. Jude Championship, set to begin the following week. Top golfers such as Justin Thomas, Sungjae Im, Gary Woodland, Danny Willett, and Joel Dahmen are expected to participate in this tournament. Let’s take a look at the list of previous winners from the United States.

USA golfers to have won the Wyndham Championship

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin of victory
2021Kevin Kisner265−15Playoff
2020Jim Herman259−211 stroke
2019J. T. Poston258−221 stroke
2018Brandt Snedeker259−213 strokes
2015Davis Love III263−171 stroke
2013Patrick Reed266−14Playoff
2011Webb Simpson262−183 strokes
2009Ryan Moore264−16Playoff
2007Brandt Snedeker266−222 strokes
2006Davis Love III272−162 strokes
2005K. J. Choi266−222 strokes
2004Brent Geiberger270−182 strokes
2002Rocco Mediate272−163 strokes
2001Scott Hoch272−161 stroke
2000Hal Sutton274−143 strokes
1996Mark O’Meara274−142 strokes
1995Jim Gallagher Jr.274−141 stroke
1994Mike Springer275−133 strokes
1993Rocco Mediate281−7Playoff
1992Davis Love III272−166 strokes
1991Mark Brooks275−13Playoff
1989Ken Green277−112 strokes
1987Scott Simpson282−62 strokes
1985Joey Sindelar285−31 stroke
1984Andy Bean280−82 strokes
1983Lanny Wadkins275−135 strokes
1982Danny Edwards285−31 stroke
1981Larry Nelson281−7Playoff
1980Craig Stadler275−136 strokes
1979Raymond Floyd282−61 stroke
1977Danny Edwards276−124 strokes
1976Al Geiberger268−162 strokes
1975Tom Weiskopf275−93 strokes
1973Chi-Chi Rodríguez267−171 stroke
1972George Archer272−12Playoff
1971Buddy Allin275−9Playoff
1969Gene Littler274−10Playoff
1968Billy Casper267−174 strokes
1967George Archer267−172 strokes
1966Doug Sanders276−8Playoff
1965Sam Snead273−115 strokes
1964Julius Boros277−7Playoff
1963Doug Sanders270−144 strokes
1962Billy Casper275−91 stroke
1961Mike Souchak276−87 strokes
1960Sam Snead270−142 strokes
1959Dow Finsterwald278−62 strokes
1958Bob Goalby275−92 strokes
1956Sam Snead279−5Playoff
1955Sam Snead273−71 stroke
1954Doug Ford283−1Playoff
1953Earl Stewart275−5Playoff
1952Dave Douglas277−71 stroke
1951Art Doering279−55 strokes
1950Sam Snead269−1110 strokes
1949Sam Snead276−8Playoff
1948Lloyd Mangrum278−21 stroke
1947Vic Ghezzi28622 strokes
1946Sam Snead270−106 strokes
1945Byron Nelson271−138 strokes
1942Sammy Byrd279−52 strokes
1941Byron Nelson276−62 strokes
1940Ben Hogan270−129 strokes
1939Ralph Guldahl280−23 strokes
1938Sam Snead271−115 strokes

More Golf Stats-
1. Women’s Scottish Open Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious event
2. The Evian Championship Stats: Golfers who have conquered the esteemed event
3. Barracuda Championship Stats: Golfers who have excelled at the prestigious event
4. Dana Open stats: Who are the past winners of the esteemed golf competition?