Women’s Scottish Open Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious event

The Women’s Scottish Open, also known as Freed Group Women’s Scottish Open due to sponsorship reasons, holds a significant place in the golfing world, being a key part of both the Ladies European Tour and the LPGA circuit. Originally inaugurated in 1986, this competition hosts a complete lineup of 156 players. This event echoes Scotland’s pledge to encourage the development of women’s golf. 

Since 2017, the tournament has received co-sanctioning by the LPGA Tour and is usually held in the last week of July, just before the Women’s British Open. The competition format transitioned from a 54-hole event, held from 2007 to 2016, back to a 72-hole event.

Some of the notable winners of the tournament

The illustrious list of past winners include notable names like Ryann O’Toole, Stacy Lewis, Ariya Jutanugarn, Mi Jung Hur, Mi Hyang Lee, Isabelle Boineau, Rebecca Artis, and Trish Johnson. Scottish natives Carly Booth and double-winner Catriona Matthew also belong to this group.

The 2022 edition of the Women’s Scottish Open witnessed Ayaka Furue from Japan clinch her first LPGA Tour win by setting a course record of 62 (-10). The tournament marked a comeback to Dundonald Links located on the West Coast of Scotland.

2023 edition of the golf tournament

The Freed Group Women’s Scottish Open 2023 is slated to take place at the Dundonald Links, located in Ayrshire, Scotland. With a lucrative prize pool of $2 million, the champion stands to garner a sum of $300,000. Renowned golfers such as Ayaka Furue, Ariya Jutanugarn, Mi Hyang Lee, Lilia Vu, and Atthaya Thitikul are anticipated to showcase their skills at this eminent competition. With the 2023 edition all set to commence from August 3 to August 6, let’s take a look at the past winners of the competition.

YearWinner (Country)ScoreMargin of victory
2022Ayaka Furue (Japan)267 (−21)3 strokes
2021Ryann O’Toole (USA)271 (−17)3 strokes
2020Stacy Lewis (USA)279 (−5)Playoff
2019M. J. Hur (South Korea)264 (−20)4 strokes
2018Ariya Jutanugarn (Thailand)271 (−13)1 stroke
2017Lee Mi-hyang (South Korea)282 (−6)1 stroke
2016Isabelle Boineau (France)205 (−11)1 stroke
2015Rebecca Artis (Australia)210 (−6)2 strokes
2014Trish Johnson (England)209 (−7)2 strokes
2013Catriona Matthew (Scotland)208 (−8)2 strokes
2012Carly Booth (Scotland)212 (−4)1 stroke
2011Catriona Matthew (Scotland)201 (−15)10 strokes
2010Virginie Lagoutte-Clément (France)217 (+1)1 stroke
2008Gwladys Nocera (France)208 (−5)2 strokes
2007Sophie Gustafson (Sweden)210 (−3)5 strokes
1995Alison Nicholas (England)272 (−16)1 stroke
1994Laura Davies (England)278 (−10)1 stroke
1988Catherine Panton (Scotland)293 (+1)1 stroke
1987Dale Reid (Scotland)285 (−3)Playoff
1986Meredith Marshall (USA)283 (−5)7 strokes

More Golf Stats-
1. 3M Open Stats: Golfers who have claimed the prestigious event
2. The Evian Championship Stats: Golfers who have conquered the esteemed event
3. Barracuda Championship Stats: Golfers who have excelled at the prestigious event
4. Dana Open stats: Who are the past winners of the esteemed golf competition?