Tour Championship Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious title

The Tour Championship is a prominent golf competition that is part of the prestigious PGA Tour. While it used to be one of the last fixtures of the golfing season, things changed in 2007. It became the culminating event of the FedEx Cup Playoffs, a series of four tournaments. The schedule for this championship is decided based on points earned throughout the golf season. In 2019, the event got a bit of a change. Not only was it moved to late August instead of its usual mid-September slot, but the FedEx Cup Playoffs were trimmed down to three events.

Before 2013, this championship served as a preliminary event to the PGA Tour Fall Series, which was crucial for golfers trying to secure spots for the upcoming season. But a rearrangement of the annual schedule turned the Tour Championship into the season finale. Multiple golf courses hosted this event until 1996. From 1997, it alternated between Champions Golf Club in Houston and East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta. Since 2004, it has found a permanent home at East Lake.

Starting 2019, the format saw a revamp aimed at ensuring that whoever wins the championship also claims the FedEx Cup. The player with the highest FedEx Cup points going into the tournament gets a head start at 10 under par, and it goes down from there based on rankings. However, these starting scores don’t count toward the Official World Golf Ranking, which only considers the actual scores players shoot during the tournament.

Golfers who have won the Tour Championship

Let’s take a look at all the winners of the Tour Championship, including the latest edition.

YearWinner (Country)ScoreTo parMargin ofvictory
2022Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)−21 (−4)1 stroke
2021Patrick Cantlay (USA)−21 (−10)1 stroke
2020Dustin Johnson (USA)−21 (−10)3 strokes
2019Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)−18 (−5)4 strokes
2018Tiger Woods (USA)269−112 strokes
2017Xander Schauffele (USA)268−121 stroke
2016Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)268−12Playoff
2015Jordan Spieth (USA)271−94 strokes
2014Billy Horschel (USA)269−113 strokes
2013Henrik Stenson (Sweden)267−133 strokes
2012Brandt Snedeker (USA)270−103 strokes
2011Bill Haas (USA)272−8Playoff
2010Jim Furyk (USA)272−81 stroke
2009Phil Mickelson (USA)271−93 strokes
2008Camilo Villegas (Colombia)273−7Playoff
2007Tiger Woods (USA)257−238 strokes
2006Adam Scott (Australia)269−113 strokes
2005Bart Bryant (USA)263−176 strokes
2004Retief Goosen (South Africa)269−114 strokes
2003Chad Campbell (USA)268−163 strokes
2002Vijay Singh (Fiji)268−122 strokes
2001Mike Weir (Canada)270−141 stroke
2000Phil Mickelson (USA)267−132 strokes
1999Tiger Woods (USA)269−154 strokes
1998Hal Sutton (USA)274−6Playoff
1997David Duval (USA)273−111 stroke
1996Tom Lehman (USA)268−126 strokes
1995Billy Mayfair (USA)280E3 strokes
1994Mark McCumber (USA)274−10Playoff
1993Jim Gallagher Jr. (USA)277−71 stroke
1992Paul Azinger (USA)276−83 strokes
1991Craig Stadler (USA)279−5Playoff
1990Jodie Mudd (USA)273−11Playoff
1989Tom Kite (USA)276−8Playoff
1988Curtis Strange (USA)279−9Playoff
1987Tom Watson (USA)268−122 strokes

More Golf Stats-
1. ISPS Handa World Invitational Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious tournament
2. BMW Championship Stats: Golfers who have conquered the PGA Tour
3. FedEx St. Jude Championship Stats: USA golfers who have won the prestigious event