Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Player Stats, Team Stats and more

The Open Championship Stats: USA golfers who have conquered the prestigious event

The Open Championship, popularly known as The Open or the British Open, is the oldest golf tournament in the world. Established in 1860, the event initially took place on an annual basis at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland. It is one of the four major men’s golf tournaments, alongside the Masters Tournament, the PGA Championship, and the U.S. Open.

Following the PGA Championship’s move to May 2019, The Open now stands as the fourth and final major tournament of the year, traditionally occurring in mid-July. The name “The Open” reflects its inclusive nature as it welcomes both professional and amateur golfers to participate. However, in practice, the event mainly consists of professional players, while a few leading amateurs also receive invitations or qualify to compete.

Lesser known facts about the Open Championship winners

Harry Vardon is the most successful golfer in the history of The Open Championship with a remarkable six victories, achieved in the years 1896, 1898, 1899, 1903, 1911, and 1914. Meanwhile, Young Tom Morris secured an impressive feat of four consecutive victories in 1868, 1869, 1870, and 1872 (there was no championship in 1871). Among golfers from the United States, Tom Watson stands out as the most accomplished, having claimed the prestigious title in 1975, 1977, 1980, 1982, and 1983. In terms of runner-up finishes, Jack Nicklaus holds the record with an impressive seven second-place finishes in The Open Championship.

USA golfers who have conquered The Open Championship

With the commencement of the 2023 edition of The Open Championship, let’s take a look at the USA golfers who were able to claim the renowned The Open Championship. Despite defecting to the Saudi-backed LIV Golf tour, Cameron Smith was allowed to enter the competition by the Open Championship organizers and hence, he will be defending his title in the 2023 edition.

YearWinnerScoreTo ParMargin of Victory
2022Cameron Smith268-201 stroke
2021Collin Morikawa265-152 strokes
2019Shane Lowry269-156 strokes
2017Jordan Spieth268-123 strokes
2015Zach Johnson273-15Playoff
2014Rory McIlroy271-172 strokes
2013Phil Mickelson281-33 strokes
2009Stewart Cink278-2Playoff
2008Pádraig Harrington28334 strokes
2007Pádraig Harrington277-7Playoff
2006Tiger Woods270-182 strokes
2005Tiger Woods274-145 strokes
2004Todd Hamilton274-10Playoff
2003Ben Curtis283-11 stroke
2002Ernie Els278-6Playoff
2000Tiger Woods269-198 strokes
1999Paul Lawrie2906Playoff
1998Mark O’Meara280EPlayoff
1997Justin Leonard272-123 strokes
1996Tom Lehman271-132 strokes
1995John Daly282-6Playoff
1994Nick Price268-121 stroke
1993Greg Norman267-132 strokes
1991Ian Baker-Finch272-82 strokes
1989Mark Calcavecchia275-13Playoff
1988Seve Ballesteros273-112 strokes
1986Greg Norman280E5 strokes
1983Tom Watson275-91 stroke
1981Bill Rogers276-44 strokes
1979Seve Ballesteros283-13 strokes
1977Tom Watson268-121 stroke
1975Tom Watson279-9Playoff
1973Tom Weiskopf276-123 strokes
1971Lee Trevino278-141 stroke
1970Jack Nicklaus283-5Playoff
1966Jack Nicklaus282-21 stroke
1959Gary Player284-42 strokes
1954Peter Thomson283-91 stroke
1948Henry Cotton284E5 strokes
1939Dick Burton290-22 strokes
1933Denny Shute292Playoff
1913John Henry Taylor304-83 strokes
1901James Braid309-33 strokes

More Golf Stats-

  1. Golf Stats: Non-USA Golfers who have won the US Women’s Open title
  2. Scottish Open stats: Who are the previous winners of the reputed golf tournament?
  3. Dana Open stats: Who are the past winners of the esteemed golf competition?