The Open Championship stats: Non-American and Non-British golfers who have conquered the event

The Open or the British Open is the oldest golf tournament in the world. Founded in 1860, it was originally held annually at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland. Later on, the venue rotated between a select group of coastal links golf courses in the United Kingdom. It is organised by the R&A. The Open is one of the four men’s major golf tournaments. The others are the Masters Tournament, the PGA Championship and the U.S. Open. After the PGA Championship shifted to May, the Open is chronologically the fourth tournament of the year. It is held in mid-July.

It is called The Open because it is in theory “open” to all, i.e. professional and amateur golfers. In practice, the current event is a professional tournament in which a small number of the world’s leading amateurs also play, by invitation or qualification. The success of the tournament has led to many other open golf tournaments being introduced around the world. The reigning champion is Cameron Smith, who won the 2022 Open at St Andrews with a score of 268.

What is the history of this prestigious tournament in the modern era?

The Open is recognised as one of the four major championships in golf and is an official event on the PGA Tour, European Tour, and Japan Golf Tour. The Great Triumvirate dominated the Open between 1894 and 1914 and was primarily responsible for the formation of the PGA in 1901. Between the World Wars, the first wins by Americans were widely celebrated when they broke the dominance previously held by British players. High-profile visits and wins by Ben Hogan and Arnold Palmer, the growth of cheaper and faster transatlantic flights, and the introduction of television coverage recovered the fallen prestige of the British Open.

When the modern concept of the majors was cemented, the Open was included as one of those four. Thus, the Open is now one of the four majors in golf, along with the U.S. Open, PGA Championship, and Masters Tournament. The term “major” is a universally-acknowledged unofficial term used by every golf followers to define the most important tournaments. Any good performance in them is often used to define the careers of the best golfers.

In terms of official recognition, the tournament has been an event on the European Tour since its formation in 1972. In 1995, prize money won in the Open was included in the PGA Tour official money list. This caused an increase in the number of American entries. In addition, all previous PGA Tour seasons have been retroactively adjusted to include the Open. Currently, the Open, along with the other three majors and The Players Championship, are the top-tier tournaments in the FedEx Cup. They offer more points than any other non-playoff event.

Who are the Non-American and non-British winners of the Open Championship?

2022Cameron Smith268Cameron YoungSt Andrews
2019Shane Lowry269Tommy FleetwoodRoyal Portrush
2018Francesco Molinari276Kevin Kisner
Rory McIlroy
Justin Rose
Xander Schauffele
2016Henrik Stenson264Phil MickelsonRoyal Troon
2012Ernie Els273Adam ScottRoyal Lytham & St Annes
2010Louis Oosthuizen272Lee WestwoodSt Andrews
2008Pádraig Harrington283Ian PoulterRoyal Birkdale
2007Pádraig Harrington277Sergio GarcíaCarnoustie
2002Ernie Els278Stuart Appleby
Steve Elkington
Thomas Levet
1994Nick Price268Jesper ParnevikTurnberry
1993Greg Norman267Nick FaldoRoyal St George’s
1991Ian Baker-Finch272Mike HarwoodRoyal Birkdale
1988Seve Ballesteros273Nick PriceRoyal Lytham & St Annes
1986Greg Norman280Gordon J. BrandTurnberry
1984Seve Ballesteros276Bernhard Langer
Tom Watson
St Andrews
1979Seve Ballesteros283Ben Crenshaw
Jack Nicklaus
Royal Lytham & St Annes
1974Gary Player282Peter OosterhuisRoyal Lytham & St Annes
1968Gary Player289Bob Charles
Jack Nicklaus
1967Roberto De Vicenzo278Jack NicklausRoyal Liverpool
1965Peter Thomson285Brian Huggett
Christy O’Connor Snr
Royal Birkdale
1963Bob Charles277Phil RodgersRoyal Lytham & St Annes
1960Kel Nagle278Arnold PalmerSt Andrews
1959Gary Player284Fred Bullock
Flory Van Donck
1958Peter Thomson278Dave ThomasRoyal Lytham & St Annes
1957Bobby Locke279Peter ThomsonSt Andrews
1956Peter Thomson286Flory Van DonckRoyal Liverpool
1955Peter Thomson281John FallonSt Andrews
1954Peter Thomson283Bobby Locke
Dai Rees
Syd Scott
Royal Birkdale
1952Bobby Locke287Peter ThomsonRoyal Lytham & St Annes
1950Bobby Locke279Roberto De VicenzoTroon
1949Bobby Locke283Harry BradshawRoyal St George’s
1907Arnaud Massy312John Henry TaylorRoyal Liverpool

Read more stats over here:

  1. Golf stats: Golfers from Great Britain who have conquered the Open Championship
  2. Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of Rocket Mortgage Classic tournament?
  3. Scottish Open stats: Who are the previous winners of the reputed golf tournament?
  4. Badminton Stats: Indonesian players who have won the Korea Open

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.