The Evian Championship Stats: Golfers who have conquered the esteemed event

The Amundi Evian Championship is a significant event in women’s professional golf. Formerly known as The Evian Masters, it has been hosted at the Evian Resort Golf Club in Évian-les-Bains, France, for almost three decades since its inception in 1994. Initially a key event on the Ladies European Tour (LET), it has grown in prestige and is now recognized as one of two major LET championships. 

Its influence extended even more in 2000 when it was co-sanctioned by the LPGA Tour, accompanied by a significant elevation in the prize fund. As of 2021, the tournament purse stood at $4.5 million, a figure that climbed to $6.5 million the following year, with the champion, Canada’s Brooke Henderson winning a total of $1 million. The golf course, located about 480 meters above sea level, offers stunning views of Lake Geneva. 

A major shift took place in 2013, with the tournament being rebranded as The Evian Championship and gaining the status of a fifth major on the LPGA Tour’s calendar and moved its schedule to September. The tournament sealed a five-year title sponsorship deal with French asset management firm Amundi in 2021. The championship format has also evolved over the years and expanded from 78-players, no-cut event to include 120 competitors when it was designated a major in 2013.

The 2023 edition of the Evian Championship

The Amundi Evian Championship 2023 is scheduled to be held from June 27 to June 30, 2023, and will feature a large field of 156 golfers. The field of the LET and LPGA co-sanctioned major will consist the likes of Hyo Joo Kim, Linn Grant, Leona Maguire, Nelly Korda, Jin Young Ko, Minjee Lee, Lydia Ko, reigning champion Brooke Henderson, Atthaya Thitikul and many more prominent women golfers. 

Golfers who have conquered the Evian Championship

Let’s take a look at the golfers who have won the main title in the history of the Evian Championship.

YearChampionScoreTo parMarginof victory
2022Brooke Henderson (Canada)64-64-68-71=267−171 stroke
2021Minjee Lee (Australia)68-69-65-64=266−18Playoff
2019Ko Jin-young (South Korea)65-71-66-67=269−152 strokes
2018Angela Stanford (United States)72-64-68-68=272−121 stroke
2017Anna Nordqvist (Sweden)70-68-66=204−9Playoff
2016Chun In-gee (South Korea)63-66-65-69=263−214 strokes
2015Lydia Ko (New Zealand)69-69-67-63=268−166 strokes
2014Kim Hyo-joo (South Korea)61-72-72-68=273−111 stroke
2013Suzann Pettersen (Norway)66-69-68=203−102 strokes
2012Inbee Park (South Korea)71-64-70-66=271−172 strokes
2011Ai Miyazato (Japan)68-68-67-70=273−152 strokes
2010Jiyai Shin (South Korea)68-70-71-66=274−141 stroke
2009Ai Miyazato (Japan)69-66-70-69=274−14Playoff
2008Helen Alfredsson (Sweden)72-63-71-67=273−15Playoff
2007Natalie Gulbis (United States)72-69-73-70=284−4Playoff
2006Karrie Webb (Australia)67-68-69-68=272−161 stroke
2005Paula Creamer (United States)68-68-66-71=273−158 strokes
2004Wendy Doolan (Australia)68-68-69-65=270−181 stroke
2003Juli Inkster (United States)66-72-64-65=267−216 strokes
2002Annika Sörenstam (Sweden)68-67-65-69=269−194 strokes
2001Rachel Teske (Australia)71-68-66-68=273−151 stroke
2000Annika Sörenstam (Sweden)70-68-70-68=276−12Playoff
1999Catrin Nilsmark (Sweden)69-70-72-68=279−92 strokes
1998Helen Alfredsson (Sweden)70-69-73-65=277−114 strokes
1997Hiromi Kobayashi (Japan)69-67-69-69=274−14Playoff
1996Laura Davies (England)72-69-65-68=274−144 strokes
1995Laura Davies (England)68-67-69-67=271−175 strokes
1994Helen Alfredsson (Sweden)71-73-73-70=287−13 strokes

More Golf Stats-

  1. Barracuda Championship Stats: Golfers who have excelled at the prestigious event
  2. The Open Championship Stats: USA golfers who have conquered the prestigious event
  3. Golf Stats: Non-British golfers who conquered the British Masters