Scottish Open stats: Who are the previous winners of the reputed golf tournament?

The Genesis Scottish Open is a professional golf tournament in Scotland. It is one of five tournaments in the Rolex Series, which identifies it as one of the European Tour’s premier events. It has been played on various courses, but in recent years it has been played on a links course, appealing to players who wish to gain experience before the Open, which takes place in the following week. In 2017, the Scottish Open became a Rolex Series which increased the purse to $ 7 million. From 2022, the competition was co-sanctioned by the PGA Tour. It is now titled Sponsored by Genesis Motors.

Some prominent golfers to win the Scottish Open

1. Ian Woosnam (Edition- 1987, 1990 & 1996, Country-Wales)

The first golfer to feature on our list is Ian Woosnam. Ian has won the competition on three occasions in the past and has been runner-up twice. Nicknamed ‘Woosie’, Woosnam was one of the “Big Five” generation of European golfers. All five golfers have been born within 12 months of one another. All of them have won majors (including Woosnam) and made Europe competitive in the Ryder Cup. Woosnam’s major championship win was at the 1991 Masters Tournament.  He was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2017.

2. Ernie Els (Edition- 2000 & 2003, Country-South Africa)

The next golfer to feature on this list is the South African golfer Ernie Els. A former World No.1, he is nicknamed “The Big Easy” due to his physical stature along with his fluid golf swing. Ernie has been the winner of the competition on two occasions and runner-up on one occasion. Other highlights in Els’s career include topping the 2003 and 2004 European Tour Order of Merit (money list), and winning the World Match Play Championship a record seven times.

3. Phil Mickelson (Edition- 2013, Country-USA)

The list will be incomplete without the mention of any American. So, the next golfer on the list is the American Phil Mickelson. Phil currently plays in the LIV Golf League. Mickelson won the Scottish Open in 2013 and has been a runner-up in 2007. He has won 45 events on the PGA Tour. With his win at the 2021 PGA Championship, Mickelson became the oldest major championship winner in history at the age of 50 years. He is nicknamed Lefty, as he plays left-handed.

Who are the winners of the Scottish Open?

YearWinner (Country)ScoreRunners Up (Country)
1972Neil Coles (England)283Brian Huggett (Wales)
1973Graham Marsh (Australia)286Peter Oosterhuis (England)
1986David Feherty (Northern Ireland)270Ian Baker-Finch (Australia)
Christy O’Connor Jr. (Ireland)
1987Ian Woosnam (Wales)264Peter Sr. (Australia)
1988Barry Lane (England)271Sandy Lyle (Scotland)
Jose Rivero (Spain)
1989Michael Allen (USA)272Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain)
Ian Woosnam (Wales)
1990Ian Woosnam (Wales)269 Mark McNulty (Zimbabwe)
1991Craig Parry (Australia)268Mark McNulty (Zimbabwe)
1992Peter O’Malley (Australia)262Colin Montgomerie (Scotland)
1993Jesper Parnevik (Sweden)271Payne Stewart (USA)
1994Carl Mason (England)265Peter Mitchell (England)
1995Wayne Riley (Australia)276Nick Faldo (England)
1996Ian Woosnam (Wales)289Andrew Coltart (Scotland)
1996Thomas Bjørn (Denmark)277Jean van de Velde (France)
1997Tom Lehman (USA)265Ernie Els (South Africa)
1998Lee Westwood (England)276Robert Allenby (Australia)
Dennis Edlund (Sweden)
David Howell (England)
Eduardo Romero (Argtentina)
Ian Woosnam (Wales)
1999Colin Montgomerie (Scotland)268Sergio Garcia (Spain)
Michael Jonzon (Sweden)
Mats Lanner (Sweden)
2000Ernie Els (South Africa)273Tom Lehman (USA)
2001Retief Goosen (South Africa)268Thomas Bjørn (Denmark)
2002Eduardo Romero (Argentina)273Freddie Jacobson (Sweden)
2003Ernie Els (South Africa)267Darren Clarke (Northern Ireland)
Phillip Price (Wales)
2004Thomas Levet (France)269Michael Campbell (Australia)
2005Tim Clark (South Africa)265Darren Clarke (Northern Ireland)
Maarten Lafeber (Netherlands)
2006Johan Edfors (Sweden)271Luke Donald (England)
Andres Romero (Argentina)
Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)
2007Gregory Havret (France)272Phil Mickelson (USA)
2008Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland)271James Kingston (South Africa)
2009Martin Kaymer (Germany)269Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Spain)
Raphael Jacquelin (France)
2010Edoardo Molinari (Italy)272Darren Clarke (Northern Ireland)
2011Luke Donald (England)197Fredrik Andersson Hed (Swede
2012Jeev Milkha Singh (India)271Francesco Molinari (Italy)
2013Phil Mickelson (USA)271Branden Grace (South Africa)
2014Justin Rose (England)268Kristoffer Broberg (Sweden)
2015Rickie Fowler (USA)268Raphael Jacquelin (France)
Matt Kuchar (USA)
2016Alex Noren (Sweden)274Tyrrell Hatton (England)
2017Rafa Cabrera-Bello (Spain)275Callum Shinkwin (England)
2018Brandon Stone (South Africa)260Eddie Pepperell (England)
2019Bernd Wiesberger (Austria)262Benjamin Hebert (France)
2020Aaron Rai (England)273Tommy Fleetwood (England)
2021Min Woo Lee (Australia)266Thomas Detry (Belgium)
Matt Fitzpatrick (England)
2022Xander Schauffele (USA)273Kurt Kitayama (USA)

Read more stats over here:

  1. Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of Rocket Mortgage Classic tournament?
  2. Murali Sreeshankar: What are the athlete’s top ten best jumps?
  3. Femke Bol stats: Top 10 fastest timings of Femke Bol in women’s 400 m
  4. Noah Lyles stats: Top 10 fastest timings of Noah Lyles in men’s 100m

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.