Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Player Stats, Team Stats and more

Portland Classic Stats: Golfers who have conquered the event

The Portland Classic is one of the longest-running women’s golf events, active for over five decades since its inception in 1972. It is a part of the LPGA Tour and has its roots in Portland, Oregon. Managed by the Tournament Golf Foundation from the start, the contest has evolved quite a bit. Initially a 54-hole competition, it expanded to 72 holes in 2013.

The money raised from the event goes toward helping local kids, accumulating to more than $19 million over the years. Initially launched as the Portland Ladies Classic, the first two events took place at Portland Golf Club. It moved to Columbia Edgewater Country Club and briefly to Riverside Golf & Country Club. Corporate sponsors like Ping, Cellular One, and Safeway have backed the event at various times.

Lesser known facts about the event

The Portland Classic saw a date shift in 2005, moving from September to August. At one time, the prize money escalated to $1.7 million. In 2015 when the then 17-year-old, Brooke Henderson, not only qualified but dominated the event, marking the most decisive win in years and earning her immediate tour membership. Stacy Lewis made headlines in 2017 by dedicating her winnings to Hurricane Harvey aid, then capturing the title and donating nearly $200,000.

Unusual circumstances have occasionally altered the event, like wildfires in 2020 and adverse weather in 2021, which led to shorter competitions. As of 2022, the tournament is back at its regular spot, the Columbia Edgewater Country Club.

Golfers who have conquered the Portland Classic

Let us take a look at the golfers who have won the prestigious Portland Classic title over the years since 1983 (before that it was an unofficial team event).

YearChampionWinningscoreTo parMarginof victory
2022Andrea Lee (USA)269−191 stroke
2021Ko Jin-young (South Korea)205−114 strokes
2020Georgia Hall (England)204−12Playoff
2019Hannah Green (Australia)267−211 stroke
2018Marina Alex (USA)269−194 strokes
2017Stacy Lewis (USA)268−201 stroke
2016Brooke Henderson (Canada)274−144 strokes
2015Brooke Henderson (Canada)267−218 strokes
2014Austin Ernst (USA)274−14Playoff
2013Suzann Pettersen (Norway)268−202 strokes
2012Mika Miyazato (Japan)203−132 strokes
2011Suzann Pettersen (Norway)207−6Playoff
2010Ai Miyazato (Japan)205−112 strokes
2009M. J. Hur (South Korea)203−13Playoff
2008Cristie Kerr (USA)203−13Playoff
2007Lorena Ochoa (Mexico)204−125 strokes
2006Pat Hurst (USA)206−101 stroke
2005Soo-Yun Kang (South Korea)201−154 strokes
2004Hee-Won Han (South Korea)207−9Playoff
2003Annika Sörenstam (Sweden)201−151 stroke
2002Annika Sörenstam (Sweden)199−171 stroke
2000Mi Hyun Kim (South Korea)215−1Playoff
1999Juli Inkster (USA)207−96 strokes
1998Danielle Ammaccapane (USA)204−121 stroke
1997Christa Johnson (USA)206−101 stroke
1996Dottie Pepper (USA)202−142 strokes
1995Alison Nicholas (England)207−91 stroke
1994Missie McGeorge (USA)207−91 stroke
1993Donna Andrews (USA)208−81 stroke
1992Nancy Lopez (USA)209−7Playoff
1991Michelle Estill (USA)208−81 stroke
1990Patty Sheehan (USA)208−81 stroke
1989Muffin Spencer-Devlin (USA)214−21 stroke
1988Betsy King (USA)213−31 stroke
1987Nancy Lopez (USA)210−61 stroke
1986Ayako Okamoto (Japan)207−96 strokes
1985Nancy Lopez (USA)215−1Playoff
1984Amy Alcott (USA)212−41 stroke
1983JoAnne Carner (USA)212−4Playoff

More Golf Stats-
1. Women’s Scottish Open Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious event
2. ISPS Handa World Invitational Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious tournament
3. Tour Championship Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious title