Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Player Stats, Team Stats and more

Irish Open: Golfers who have won the prestigious title

The Irish Open is a professional golf tournament on the European Tour. It was debuted in the year 1927 and has since then held annually. The only exception was the war years. The Irish Open is one of the European Tour Rolex Series events. The Rolex Series started in 2017, with each tournament in the series having a minimum prize fund of $7 million. This year’s championship is scheduled to take place in the month of September. Since 2014, it has been one of the Open Qualifying Series.

The Sponsorship History of the Irish Open

Sponsorship plays a monumental role in generating the purse of any sporting tournament. However, one of the major problems of the Irish Open has been the sponsorship. Earlier, Pepsi had pulled out from supporting the tournament in the 1970s. However, since 1963 Carroll’s had sponsored a major tournament. The Carroll’s International at Woodbrook Golf Club has been a European Tour event since the tour started in 1972. For the 1975 European Tour season, Carroll’s International was dropped and Carroll’s became the sponsor of the revived Irish Open.

Then the company Nissan entered the picture of sponsorship. However, it also departed as a title sponsor in the year 2006. Following the departure of Nissan, Adare Golf Club, part of the Adare Manor Hotel and Golf Resort, planned to host the tournament for three years i.e. from 2007 to 2009. After two years, it was announced in January 2009 that they could no longer sustain the losses incurred. As a result, in early March the European Tour confirmed the national championship would return with a new sponsor, 3 Mobile.

Fáilte Ireland, the National Tourism Development Authority of the Republic of Ireland, agreed to sponsor in 2011. But, it reduced the purse to half of €1.5 million. From 2015 the event was sponsored by Dubai Duty Free in conjunction with the Rory Foundation. In October 2015, it was announced that both entities had extended their sponsorship to till 2018. In May 2018, it was announced that Dubai Duty-Free would extend its sponsorship further to 2022. Likewise, the prize money of the tournament was also increased to €5 million from 2022. Finally, in February 2022, it was announced that Horizon Therapeutics would take on the baton of sponsorship till 2027. As a result, it is now known as Horizon Irish Open

Who are the English winners of the Irish Open Championship?

2013Paul Casey2741. Joost Luiten
2. Robert Rock
Carton House
2011Simon Dyson269Richard GreenKillarney
2010Ross Fisher266Pádraig HarringtonKillarney
2008Richard Finch278Felipe AguilarAdare
1998David Carter278Colin MontgomerieDruids Glen
1993Nick Faldo 276José María OlazábalMount Juliet
1992Nick Faldo274Wayne WestnerKillarney
1991Nick Faldo283Colin MontgomerieKillarney
1980Mark James284Brian BarnesPortmarnock
1979Mark James282Ed SneedPortmarnock
1939Arthur Lees287Reg WhitcombeRoyal County Down
1937Bert Gadd284Jimmy AdamsRoyal Portrush
1936Reg Whitcombe281Bill DaviesRoyal Dublin
1935Ernest Whitcombe292Reg WhitcombeRoyal County Down
1934Syd Easterbrook284Joe BrownPortmarnock
1933Bob Kenyon286Alf PadghamMalone
1932Alf Padgham283Bill DaviesCork
1931Bob Kenyon2911. Bill Davies
2. Bert Hodson
3. Abe Mitchell
4. Mark Seymour
5. Ernest Whitcombe
Royal Dublin
1930Charles Whitcombe289Abe MitchellRoyal Portrush
1929Abe Mitchell3091. Archie Compston
2. Len Holland
1928Ernest Whitcombe288Archie CompstonRoyal County Down

Read more golf news over here:

  1. Indian Golfers at the Asian Games: Meet the medalists and the 2023 squad
  2. Portland Classic Stats: Golfers who have conquered the event
  3. Canadian Women’s Open Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious title
  4. Women’s Scottish Open Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious event

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.