Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the Charles Schwab Challenge (Colonial National Invitation)?

The Charles Schwab Challenge, formerly known as the Colonial National Invitation, is a golf tournament held in Fort Worth, Texas as part of the PGA Tour. The tournament takes place annually in May at the Colonial Country Club, which serves as the host venue. It is recognized as one of the five invitation-only events on the PGA Tour, having been established 77 years ago.

The event, which was renamed as the Charles Schwab Challenge in 2019 due to sponsorship reasons, holds a special connection with golf legend Ben Hogan. Hogan, who resided in Fort Worth for many years, holds the record for the most victories in the tournament, having won it five times. His association with the event has made it even more significant in the golfing world.

Being an invitational tournament, the Charles Schwab Challenge features a reduced field of approximately 120 players, distinguishing it from most open tournaments on the PGA Tour that typically have larger fields of 144 or 156 players. Alongside the Charles Schwab Challenge, there are four other tournaments granted invitational status by the PGA Tour – the Genesis Open, Arnold Palmer Invitational, RBC Heritage, and the Memorial Tournament. These events have a special status within the PGA Tour schedule. 

In 2020, an exception was made and the tournament was played with a field of 144 players. This adjustment was made to compensate for the cancellation of several tournaments earlier in the year and ensure a competitive field for the event.

Read More-Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the PGA Championship

Sponsorship and Tournament’s history

The Charles Schwab Corporation became the main sponsor of the golf tournament in 2019 as it signed a four-year deal. Before that, the event had different sponsors throughout its history. Dean & Deluca held the sponsorship from 2016 to 2017, followed by Crowne Plaza from 2007 to 2015. Other past sponsors include Bank of America (2003–2006), MasterCard (1996–2002), and Southwestern Bell (1989–1994). In 1995 and 2018, there was no title sponsor for the event.

The tournament’s name has gone through changes over the years. Until 2015, it included Colonial in the title, but in 2016, it became the Dean & DeLuca Invitational. Even during the unsponsored 2018 event, it was referred to as the Fort Worth Invitational. The 2018 tournament faced a challenge when Dean & DeLuca abruptly withdrew from their six-year sponsorship agreement. 

However, local corporations such as American Airlines, AT&T, XTO Energy Inc., and Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railway stepped in to provide financial support, allowing the event to continue under the Fort Worth Invitational name. This temporary arrangement provided time for the PGA TOUR and Colonial Country Club to secure a new sponsor for future editions of the tournament.

Read More-Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the Aramco Team Series?

Who are the past winners of the Charles Schwab Challenge (Colonial National Invitation)?

The 2023 edition of the Charles Schwab Challenge will take place from May 25 to May 28, 2023, at the Colonial Golf Course located in Fort Worth, Texas. With less than 24 hours to go for the event, let’s take a look at the past winners of the Charles Schwab Challenge (Colonial National Invitation).

2022Sam BurnsUSA271
2021Jason KokrakUSA266
2020Daniel BergerUSA265
2019Kevin NaUSA267
2018Justin RoseEngland260
2017Kevin KisnerUSA270
2016Jordan SpiethUSA263
2015Chris KirkUSA268
2014Adam ScottAustralia271
2013Boo WeekleyUSA266
2012Zach JohnsonUSA268
2011David TomsUSA265
2010Zach JohnsonUSA259
2009Steve StrickerUSA263
2008Phil MickelsonUSA266
2007Rory SabbatiniSlovakia266
2006Tim HerronUSA268
2005Kenny PerryUSA261
2004Steve FleschUSA269
2003Kenny PerryUSA261
2002Nick PriceZimbabwe267
2001Sergio GarcíaSpain267
2000Phil MickelsonUSA268
1999Olin BrowneUSA272
1998Tom WatsonUSA265
1997David FrostSouth Africa265
1996Corey PavinUSA272
1995Tom LehmanUSA271
1994Nick PriceZimbabwe266
1993Fulton AllemSouth Africa264
1992Bruce LietzkeUSA267
1991Tom PurtzerUSA267
1990Ben CrenshawUSA272
1989Ian Baker-FinchAustralia270
1988Lanny WadkinsUSA270
1987Keith ClearwaterUSA266
1986Dan PohlUSA205[a]
1985Corey PavinUSA266
1984Peter JacobsenUSA270
1983Jim ColbertUSA278
1982Jack NicklausUSA273
1981Fuzzy ZoellerUSA274
1980Bruce LietzkeUSA271
1979Al GeibergerUSA274
1978Lee TrevinoUSA268
1977Ben CrenshawUSA272
1976Lee TrevinoUSA273
1974Rod CurlUSA276
1973Tom WeiskopfUSA276
1972Jerry HeardUSA275
1971Gene LittlerUSA283
1970Homero BlancasUSA273
1969Gardner DickinsonUSA278
1968Billy CasperUSA275
1967Dave StocktonUSA278
1966Bruce DevlinAustralia280
1965Bruce CramptonAustralia276
1964Julius BorosUSA279
1963Arnold PalmerUSA279
1962Doug SandersUSA281
1961Julius BorosUSA281
1960Ben HoganUSA280
1959Tommy BoltUSA285
1958Roberto De VicenzoArgentina282
1957Mike SouchakUSA284
1956Chandler HarperUSA280
1955Johnny PalmerUSA276
1954Ben HoganUSA280
1953Ben HoganUSA282
1952Cary MiddlecoffUSA279
1951Sam SneadUSA282
1950Clayton HeafnerUSA277
1948Ben HoganUSA272
1947Ben HoganUSA279
1946Ben HoganUSA279

More Golf Stats-

  1. Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the LPGA’s Founders Cup
  2. Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the Aramco Team Series?
  3. Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the PGA Tour’s The Tradition
  4. Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the PGA Championship