Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the BMW International Open?

The BMW International Open is a yearly golf tournament for men, forming part of the European Tour (DP World Tour), and takes place in Germany. Initiated in 1989, it has a history of being hosted close to Munich, where BMW’s headquarters are located, up until 2012. From the inception until 1993 and later from 1997 to 2011, the event took place at Golfclub München Eichenried. 

It shifted to St. Eurach Land-und-Golf Club for the years 1994 to 1996. Golf Club Gut Lärchenhof near Cologne and Golfclub München Eichenried alternatively hosted the BMW International Open starting in 2012. The former organized the event in even years (2012, 2014, 2016, and 2018), while the latter did it in 2011, 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019.

The BMW International Open has achieved this unique feat of being the longest-running tournament on the European Tour to be continuously held under the same title. In addition, it is the professional golf tournament with the longest tenure in Germany. The tournament also signifies BMW’s foray into professional golf, and since then, the company has become an integral part of the sport.

Lesser known facts about some of the winners of the BMW International Open

The champion of the first BMW International Open was David Feherty from Northern Ireland. He later transitioned into a prominent television commentator in the United States. The tournament boasts a talented list of winners including Paul Azinger from the United States, Thomas Bjørn from Denmark, Pablo Larrazábal from Spain, and Henrik Stenson from Sweden, all of whom have clinched the title twice. However, the youngest and the only German player to win the tournament is Martin Kaymer. He secured a memorable triumph at the tournament’s 20th anniversary in 2008 when he was just 23 years old and 177 days old.

Who are the past winners of the BMW International Open?

The 2023 edition of the BMW International Open is all set to take place at the Golfclub München Eichenried from June 22 to June 25, 2023. With less than a day to go for the tournament, let’s take a look at the past winners of the BMW International Open.

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin ofvictory
2022Li Haotong (China)266−22Playoff
2021Viktor Hovland (Norway)269−192 strokes
2019Andrea Pavan (Italy)273−15Playoff
2018Matt Wallace (England)278−101 stroke
2017Andrés Romero (Argentina)271−171 stroke
2016Henrik Stenson (Sweden)271−173 strokes
2015Pablo Larrazábal (Spain)271−171 stroke
2014Fabrizio Zanotti (Paraguay)269−19Playoff
2013Ernie Els (South Africa)270−181 stroke
2012Danny Willett (England)277−11Playoff
2011Pablo Larrazábal (Spain)272−16Playoff
2010David Horsey (England)270−181 stroke
2009Nick Dougherty (England)266−221 stroke
2008Martin Kaymer (Germany)273−15Playoff
2007Niclas Fasth (Sweden)275−132 strokes
2006Henrik Stenson (Sweden)273−15Playoff
2005David Howell (England)265−231 stroke
2004Miguel Ángel Jiménez (Spain)267−212 strokes
2003Lee Westwood (England)269−193 strokes
2002Thomas Bjørn (Denmark)264−244 strokes
2001John Daly (USA)261−271 stroke
2000Thomas Bjørn (Denmark)268−203 strokes
1999Colin Montgomerie (Scotland)268−203 strokes
1998Russell Claydon (England)270−181 stroke
1997Robert Karlsson (Sweden)264−24Playoff
1996Marc Farry (France)132[a]−121 stroke
1995Frank Nobilo (New Zealand)272−162 strokes
1994Mark McNulty (Zimbabwe)274−141 stroke
1993Peter Fowler (Australia)267−213 strokes
1992Paul Azinger (USA)266−22Playoff
1991Sandy Lyle (Scotland)268−203 strokes
1990Paul Azinger (USA)277−11Playoff
1989David Feherty (Northern Ireland)269−195 strokes

More Golf Stats-