Golf stats: Who are the past winners of KLM Dutch Open?

The Dutch Open is one of the oldest golf tournaments held annually in the Netherlands and has been a part of the European Tour since its establishment in 1972. Originally known as the Dutch Open, the tournament has undergone various name changes over the years due to different sponsors. Notably, KLM has been the longest-serving title sponsor, supporting the event from 1981 to 1990 and again from 2004 to 2020. After a two-year hiatus, KLM has returned as the official sponsor of the tournament.

Throughout its history, the Dutch Open has been scheduled at different times in the golfing calendar. Since 2010, it has been consistently held in early September. Unfortunately, in 2020, the tournament had to be canceled for the first time since 1945 due to the global COVID-19 pandemic. The event also did not take place from 1940 to 1945 due to the impact of World War II. However, in 2021, the tournament made a comeback at a new venue, the Bernardus Golf Course located in Cromvoirt. The 2023 edition will also be hosted at the same venue.

Over the years, the KLM Dutch Open has been hosted at several prestigious golf courses across the country. These include the Royal Haagsche Golf & Country Club in The Hague, Noordwijkse Golf Club in Noordwijk, Doornsche Golf Club, Kennemer Golf & Country Club, Domburgsche Golfclub, Hilversumsche Golf Club, Utrechtse Golfclub ‘De Pan’, Eindhovensche Golf, Golfclub Toxandria, Rosendaelsche Golfclub, The Dutch in Spijk, The International in Amsterdam, and Bernardus Golf in Cromvoirt.

Read More-Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the LPGA’s Founders Cup

The 2023 edition of the KLM Open

The KLM Dutch Open 2023 has already begun and will run until May 28, 2023. The prize money for the KLM Open 2023 amounts to $2 million, which will be distributed among the participants. The golfer who emerges as the winner will receive a prize of $340,000, while the runner-up will be awarded $220,000. The field for the KLM Open is led by notable players like Joost Luiten, Jordan Smith, and Jorge Campillo, along with other top-ranked golfers from around the world. 

Apart from the financial aspect, there are significant points, privileges, and advantages at stake for the participants, particularly the tournament winner. The winner can earn approximately 18 Official World Golf Ranking points, with the number of points determined by the strength of the field. Winning the tournament also comes with additional benefits, such as a European Tour exemption lasting for more than two seasons and invitations to other important events.

The full field has the opportunity to earn a total of 2,750 Race to Dubai points during the KLM Dutch Open. The number of points available is directly related to the tournament’s prize money, which is quoted in United States dollars (USD). The winner of the event will receive 460 Race to Dubai points. After the tournament, the player with the highest cumulative Race to Dubai points for the season will be crowned the Race to Dubai champion and claim the top prize. Additionally, the top eight players in the final Race to Dubai standings will receive their share of the €6 million bonus pool.

Who are the past winners of the KLM Dutch Open?

2022Victor PerezFrance275
2021Kristoffer BrobergSweden265
2019Sergio GarcíaSpain270
2018Wu AshunChina268
2017Romain WattelFrance269
2016Joost LuitenNetherlands265
2015Thomas PietersBelgium261
2014Paul CaseyEngland266
2013Joost LuitenNetherlands268
2012Peter HansonSweden266
2011Simon DysonEngland268
2010Martin KaymerGermany266
2009Simon DysonEngland265
2008Darren ClarkeNorthern Ireland264
2007Ross FisherEngland268
2006Simon DysonEngland270
2005Gonzalo Fernández-CastañoSpain269
2004David LynnEngland264
2003Maarten LafeberNetherlands267
2002Tobias DierGermany263
2001Bernhard LangerGermany269
2000Stephen LeaneyAustralia269
1999Lee WestwoodEngland269
1998Stephen LeaneyAustralia266
1997Sven StrüverGermany266
1996Mark McNultyZimbabwe266
1995Scott HochUnited States269
1994Miguel Ángel JiménezSpain270
1993Colin MontgomerieScotland281
1992Bernhard LangerGermany277
1991Payne StewartUnited States267
1990Stephen McAllisterScotland274
1989José María OlazábalSpain277
1988Mark MoulandWales274
1987Gordon Brand JnrScotland272
1986Seve BallesterosSpain271
1985Graham MarshAustralia282
1984Bernhard LangerWest Germany275
1983Ken BrownScotland274
1982Paul WayEngland276
1981Harold HenningSouth Africa280
1980Seve BallesterosSpain280
1979Graham MarshAustralia285
1978Bob BymanUnited States214
1977Bob BymanUnited States278
1976Seve BallesterosSpain275
1975Hugh BaiocchiSouth Africa279
1974Brian BarnesScotland211
1973Doug McClellandEngland279
1972Jack NewtonAustralia277
1971Ramón SotaSpain277
1970Vicente FernándezArgentina279
1969Guy WolstenholmeEngland277
1968John CockinEngland292
1967Peter TownsendEngland282
1966Ramón SotaSpain277
1965Ángel MiguelSpain278
1964Sewsunker SewgolumSouth Africa275
1963Retief WaltmanSouth Africa279
1962Brian HuggettWales274
1961Brian WilkesSouth Africa279
1960Sewsunker SewgolumSouth Africa280
1959Sewsunker SewgolumSouth Africa283
1958Dave ThomasWales277
1957John JacobsEngland284
1956Antonio CerdáArgentina277
1955Alfonso AngeliniItaly280
1954Ugo GrappasonniItaly295
1953Flory Van DonckBelgium286
1952Cecil DennyEngland284
1951Flory Van DonckBelgium281
1950Roberto De VicenzoArgentina269
1949Jimmy AdamsScotland294
1948Cecil DennyEngland290
1947Joop RühlNetherlands290
1946Flory Van DonckBelgium290
1939Bobby LockeSouth Africa281
1938Alf PadghEngland281
1937Flory Van DonckBelgium286
1936Flory Van DonckBelgium285
1935Sid BrewsSouth Africa275
1934Sid BrewsSouth Africa286
1933Marcel DallemagneFrance143
1932Auguste BoyerFrance137
1931Frank DyerUnited States145
1930Dirk OosterveerNetherlands152
1929Jack TaylorEngland153
1928Ernest WhitcombeEngland141
1927Percy BoomerJersey147
1926Aubrey BoomerJersey151
1925Aubrey BoomerJersey144
1924Aubrey BoomerJersey138
1923Henry BurrowsEngland153
1922George PannellEngland160
1921Henry BurrowsEngland158
1920Henry BurrowsEngland151
1919Dirk OosterveerNetherlands158
1918Florent GeversBelgium159
1917Jacob OosterveerNetherlands160
1916Charles BryceEngland166
1915Gerry del Court van KrimpenNetherlands152
1912George PannellEngland158

More Golf Stats-

  1. Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the Charles Schwab Challenge (Colonial National Invitation)?
  2. Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the Aramco Team Series?
  3. Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the LPGA’s Founders Cup
  4. Golf Stats: USA golfers who have won the Chevron Championship