Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Player Stats, Team Stats and more

Golf Stats: Who are the golfers to have won the U.S. Open multiple times?

The U.S. Open, or the United States Open Championship, is a yearly golf contest which is the main championship for golf in the United States. Being one of the top four principal events in golf, it’s highly respected in the world of golf and receives acknowledgment from both the PGA Tour and the European Tour. Initiated in 1898, participants in the contest play over four rounds on an 18-hole course, totaling 72 holes.

This championship had its beginnings on October 4, 1895, at Newport Country Club in Rhode Island. Surprisingly, the 36-hole competition could be wrapped up within just one day. A newcomer from England named Horace Rawlins who was 21 years back then, claimed the winner’s title in the inaugural edition. He received a cash prize award of $150 and a gold medal worth $50 out of the total prize pool of $335. During the early stages, golfers from Britain were the ones to beat, but in 1911, an American named John J. McDermott broke the pattern and became the first champion from the USA.

Since McDermott’s success, the American golfers have typically been the ones lifting the trophy. The U.S. Open developed a reputation as one of the major championships in golf. Although the winners have predominantly been Americans, there was a unique period from 2004 to 2007 when players from outside the U.S. secured the championship four times consecutively, something that hadn’t happened since 1910.

Lesser known facts about the US Open

Willie Anderson, Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan, and Jack Nicklaus hold the record for the most victories in the U.S. Open as each has won on four occasions. Anderson stands out for achieving three consecutive wins from 1903 to 1905. Hale Irwin became the oldest winner of the U.S. Open when he triumphed at the age of 45 years and 15 days in 1990.

On the other hand, John McDermott holds the achievement of being the youngest champion, clinching the title at just 19 years, 10 months, and 14 days old in 1911. Rory McIlroy holds the record for the lowest aggregate score, posting an impressive 268 in 2011. Both McIlroy and Brooks Koepka share the record for the lowest score in relation to par, both achieving a winning score of -16.

Throughout the tournament’s history, there have been instances of golfers winning the U.S. Open wire-to-wire, leading from start to finish. This feat has been accomplished by seven golfers on eight occasions. With the 2023 edition of the U.S. Open all set to kick off from June 15 to June 18, let’s take a look at the golfers who have won the US Open title on multiple occasions.

Golfers who have won the U.S. Open title multiple times

GolferCountryTotal titles wonYears
Willie AndersonScotland41901, 1903, 1904, 1905
Robert Tyre Jones Jr.United States41923, 1926, 1929, 1930
Ben HoganUnited States41948, 1950, 1951, 1953
Jack NicklausUnited States41962, 1967, 1972, 1980
Hale IrwinUnited States31974, 1979, 1990
Tiger WoodsUnited States32000, 2002, 2008
Alex SmithScotland21906, 1910
John McDermottUnited States21911, 1912
Walter HagenUnited States21914, 1919
Gene SarazenUnited States21922, 1932
Ralph GuldahlUnited States21937, 1938
Cary MiddlecoffUnited States21949, 1956
Julius BorosUnited States21952, 1963
Billy CasperUnited States21959, 1966
Lee TrevinoUnited States21968, 1971
Andy NorthUnited States21978, 1985
Curtis StrangeUnited States21988, 1989
Ernie ElsSouth Africa21994, 1997
Lee JanzenUnited States21993, 1998
Payne StewartUnited States21991, 1999
Retief GoosenSouth Africa22001, 2004
Brooks KoepkaUnited States22017, 2018

More Golf Stats-
1) Golf stats: Who are the past winners of KLM Dutch Open?
2) Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the Charles Schwab Challenge (Colonial National Invitation)?
3) Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the Aramco Team Series?
4) Golf Stats: Golfers who have won the LPGA’s Founders Cup