Golf Stats: USA golfers who have won the AIG Women’s Open title

The AIG Women’s Open is a major championship in women’s professional golf. It is recognised by both the LPGA Tour and the Ladies European Tour as a major. The reigning champion is Ashleigh Buhai from South Africa. The tournament has generally been played in late July or early August. This change came after it became an LPGA major in 2001. In 2019, the tournament was renamed the AIG Women’s British Open, a name it retains to this day. From 2007 to 2018 it was called the Ricoh Women’s British Open. The previous twenty editions were sponsored by Weetabix. In July 2020, the sponsorship agreement with AIG was extended until 2025. As part of this agreement, The R&A renamed the championship by removing the qualifier “British”. This is in line with the R&A’s men’s and senior men’s championships. Hence, the name changed to AIG Women’s Open.

History of this prestigious event

The first Women’s British Open was played in 1976 when the Ladies’ British Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship was extended to include professionals. The Amateur Stroke Play Championship had been organised by the Ladies Golf Union since 1969. From 1979 the event was separated from the Stroke Play Championship, which returned to being an amateur-only event. Prize money of £10,000 attracted a larger number of professionals. At first, it was difficult for the organisers to get the most prestigious courses to agree to host the event, with the exception of Royal Birkdale, which hosted it twice during its early days, in 1982 and 1986. After nearly folding in 1983, the tournament was held at the best of the “second-tier” courses, including Woburn Golf and Country Club for seven straight years, from 1990 through 1996, as well as in 1984 and 1999.

As its prestige continued to increase, more of the links courses that are in the rotation for The Open Championship, such as Turnberry and Royal Lytham & St Annes hosted the tournament. In 2007, the tournament took place at the Old Course at St Andrew’s for the first time. Since 2010, four additional Open Championship venues became first-time hosts for the women’s event: Carnoustie, Royal Liverpool, Royal Troon and Muirfield. However, till now the tournament has yet to be played at two Open Championship courses: Royal St. George’s and Royal Portrush. Currently, Turnberry is unable to be on the Open rota because of some political ramifications. Unlike its male counterpart, the Women’s Open has not adopted a links-only policy. This greatly increases the number of potential venues. In 2017 the tournament was merged with The R&A. Following it, the tournament is now organised by the same organisation as the men’s.

Through 1993, the tournament was an official stop only on the Ladies European Tour. Starting in 1994, it became a permanent LPGA Tour event. This increased both the quality and prestige of the event. In 2005, the starting field size was increased to 150, but only the low 65 (plus ties) survive the cut after the second round. Tied for most victories in the Women’s British Open with three each are Karrie Webb (Aus) and Sherri Steinhauer (USA). Both won the tournament twice before it became an LPGA major and once after. Yani Tseng of Taiwan and Jiyai Shin of South Korea are the only multiple winners of the championship as a major. The other multiple winner is Debbie Massey (USA). Massey had consecutive wins to her name well before it was an LPGA co-sanctioned event.

Who are the USA winners of the AIG Women’s Open Championship?

2014Mo MartinRoyal Birkdale2871. Shanshan Feng
2. Suzann Pettersen
2013Stacy LewisSt Andrews2801. Na Yeon Choi
2. Hee Young Park
2006Sherri SteinhauerRoyal Lytham & St Annes2811. Sophie Gustafson
2. Cristie Kerr
1999Sherri SteinhauerWoburn, Duke’s Course283Annika Sörenstam
1998Sherri SteinhauerRoyal Lytham & St Annes2921. Brandie Burton
2. Sophie Gustafson
1996Emilee KleinWoburn, Duke’s Course2771. Amy Alcott
2. Penny Hammel
1992Patty SheehanWoburn, Duke’s Course207Corinne Dibnah
1989Jane GeddesFerndown274Florence Descampe
1985Betsy KingMoor Park300Marta Figueras-Dotti
1981Debbie MasseyNorthumberland295Belle Robertson
1980Debbie MasseyWentworth2941. Marta Figueras-Dotti
2. Belle Robertson

Read more golf stats over here:

  1. The Open Championship stats: Non-American and Non-British golfers who have conquered the event
  2. Dana Open stats: Who are the past winners of the esteemed golf competition?
  3. 3M Open Stats: Golfers who have claimed the prestigious event
  4. Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of Rocket Mortgage Classic tournament?

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.