Golf Stats: Non-USA Golfers who have won the US Women’s Open title

The U.S. Women’s Open, one of 15 national golf championships conducted by the United States Golf Association (USGA), is the oldest of the LPGA Tour’s five major championships, which includes the Chevron Championship, Women’s PGA Championship, Women’s Open Championship, and The Evian Championship. The U.S. Women’s Open is the second major of the LPGA season and has the highest purse in women’s golf. 

The U.S. Women’s Open was established 77 years ago in 1946. It is the only event that has been recognised as a major by the LPGA since its inception in 1950. Originally it was operated by the Women’s Professional Golfers Association (WPGA) for its first three years. Then it was given to the LPGA for the next four. However, in 1953 it became a USGA event. The tournament has normally been held the week after Memorial Day. Over the years there have been many ramifications to the competition. One of them is the increase of the purse from $5.5 million to $10 million in 2022.

Some notable Non-USA Golfers to win the US Women’s Open

1. Annika Sorenstam (Editions- 1995, 1996 & 2006)

Regarded as one of the best female golfers in the world, Annika Sorenstam has won the tournament thrice. Out of all the non-USA female golfers, she is the only one who has won the U.S. Open for the maximum amount of time. Before stepping away from competitive golf at the end of the 2008 season, she had won 90 international tournaments as a professional, making her the female golfer with the most wins to her name. Overall, she has won 72 official LPGA tournaments including ten majors and 24 other tournaments internationally. After 2008, she returned to the field at the age of 50. All the people were thinking about whether she can do it at this level at such an old age. But she silenced everyone by winning the 2021 U.S. Senior Women’s Open.

In 2003, she achieved a career grand slam, winning, at least once in her career, each of the four tournaments recognized as major championships during the main part of her career. Despite retiring from regular tournament golf in 2008, as of the end of 2022, she still topped the LPGA’s career money list with earnings of over $22 million—over $2 million ahead of her nearest rival while playing 187 fewer events.

2. Karrie Webb (Editions- 2000 & 2001)

The second golfer to feature on this list is Karrie Webb. Karrie has won the U.S. Women’s Open two times on a trot. Karrie is an Australian professional golfer. She plays mainly on the U.S.-based LPGA Tour. Additionally, she also turns out once or twice a year on the ALPG Tour in her home country. Karrie is a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame. She has 41 wins on the LPGA Tour, more than any other active player. Overall, Webb has 56 professional wins to her name.

3. Inbee Park ( Editions- 2008 & 2013)

The next golfer to feature on the list has put the identity of Asia on the golfing circuit at the international level. Yes, we are talking about Inbee Park from South Korea. Park has been the winner of the U.S. Women’s Open title in 2008 and 2013. She has been the number one ranked player in the Women’s World Golf Rankings for four separate runs: April 2013 to June 2014, October 2014 to February 2015, June 2015 to October 2015, and April to July 2018.

Park’s success at the highest level, has developed a profound interest in her country which has accentuated the success of Korea. Over the years, many South Korean professional female golfers have been able to win the tournament on numerous occasions. It has also attracted other Asian countries like Thailand to perform at the highest level.

Who are the Non-USA golfers to win the US Women’s Open title?

1955Fray CrockerUruguayWichita, Kansas State
1967Katherine LacosteFranceHot Springs, Maryland
1983Jan StephensonAustraliaBroken Arrow, Oklahoma
1987Laura DaviesGreat BritainEdison, New Jersey
1988Liselotte NeumannSwedenBaltimore, Maryland
1995Annika SorenstamSwedenColorado Springs, Colorado
1996Annika SorenstamSwedenSouthern Pines, North Carolina
1997Alison NicholasGreat BritainNorth Plains, Oregon
1998Pak Se-riSouth KoreaKohler, Wisconsin
2000Karrie WebbAustraliaLibertyville, Illinois
2001Karrie WebbAustraliaSouthern Pines, North Carolina
2005Birdie KimSouth KoreaCherry Hills Village, Colorado
2006Annika SorenstamSwedenNewport, Rhode Island
2008Inbee ParkSouth KoreaEdina, Minnesota
2009Ji Eun-HeeSouth KoreaUpper Saucon Township, Pennsylvania
2011Ryu So-YeonSouth KoreaColorado Springs, Colorado
2012Na Yeon ChoiSouth KoreaKohler, Wisconsin
2013Inbee ParkSouth KoreaSouthampton, New York
2015Chun In-GeeSouth KoreaLancaster, Pennsylvania
2017Park Sung-HyunSouth KoreaBedminster, New Jersey
2018Ariya JutanugarnThailandShoal Creek, Alabama
2019Lee Jeong-EunSouth KoreaCharleston, South Carolina
2020Kim A-LimSouth KoreaHouston, Texas
2021Yuka SasoPhilippinesSan Francisco, San Francisco
2022Minjee LeeAustraliaSouthern Pines, North Carolina

Read more stats over here:

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.