Golf Stats: Non-USA golfers who have won the AIG Women’s Open title

The AIG Women’s Open is a major championship in women’s professional golf. It is recognised as a Major by both the LPGA Tour and the Ladies European Tour. The reigning winner is Ashleigh Buhai from South Africa. The tournament was usually played in late July or early August. This changed after it became an LPGA Major in 2001. In 2019, the tournament was renamed the AIG Women’s British Open, a name it retains today. From 2007 to 2018, it was called the Ricoh Women’s British Open. Weetabix has sponsored the last twenty editions. In July 2020, the sponsorship agreement with AIG was extended until 2025. As part of this agreement, The R&A renamed the championship by removing the qualifier “British”. This is in line with the R&A’s men’s and senior men’s championships. Hence, the name changed to AIG Women’s Open.

Who are some of the prominent Non-USA golfers to win the AIG Women’s Open?

1. Karrie Webb (Australia, Edition- 1995,1997 & 2002)

Karrie Ann Webb AO is an Australian professional golfer. She plays mainly on the USA-based LPGA Tour and turns out once or twice a year on the ALPG Tour in her home country. She is a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame. Webb has 41 wins on the LPGA Tour, more than any other active player. Karrie won the AIG Women’s competition in 1995, 1997 and 2002. Over the years Karrie Webb has come to become one of the best golfers from down under.

2. Yani Tseng (Taiwan, Edition- 2010 & 2011)

Yani Tseng is a Taiwanese professional golfer playing on the USA-based LPGA Tour. She is the youngest player to win five major championships. Yani was ranked number 1 in the Women’s World Golf Rankings for 109 consecutive weeks from 2011 to 2013. Tseng is one of the best golfers that Taiwan has produced in recent years. Yani also won the coveted AIG Women’s Open in 2010 and then defended it the next year.

3. Inbee Park (South Korea, Editions- 2015)

Inbee Park is a South Korean professional golfer who plays on the LPGA Tour and the LPGA of Japan Tour. She has been the number one ranked player in the Women’s World Golf Rankings for four separate runs. Park has won seven major championships in her career, including three consecutive major wins during the 2013 season. She became only the fourth LPGA Tour player to win three majors in a calendar year. She is the youngest player to win the U.S. Women’s Open and the second player, after Annika Sorenstam, to win the Women’s PGA Championship three years in a row. Park is only the seventh player to win four different majors during her career and capture a career Grand Slam. In 2016, she won the first Olympic gold medal since 1900 in the women’s individual tournament. Park won the AIG trophy in 2015.

Who are the Non-USA winners of the AIG Women’s Open Championship?

1976Jenny Lee SmithFulford299Mary McKenna 
1977Vivien SaundersLindrick Golf Club306Mary Everard
1978Janet Melville Foxhills310Wilma Aitken 
1979Alison SheardSouthport & Ainsdale301Mickey Walker
1982Marta Figueras-Dotti Royal Birkdale2961. Rosie Jones
2. Jenny Lee Smith
1984Ayako OkamotoWoburn, Duke’s Course2891. Betsy King
2. Dale Reid
1986Laura DaviesRoyal Birkdale2831. Peggy Conley
2. Marta Figueras-Dotti
1987Alison NicholasSt Mellion2961. Laura Davies
2. Muffin Spencer-Devlin
1988Corinne DibnahLindrick295Sally Little
1990Helen AlfredssonWoburn, Duke’s Course288Jane Hill
1991Penny Grice-WhittakerWoburn, Duke’s Course2841. Helen Alfredsson
2. Diane Barnard
1993Karen LunnWoburn, Duke’s Course275Brandie Burton
1994Liselotte NeumannWoburn, Duke’s Course280Annika Sörenstam
1995Karrie WebbWoburn, Duke’s Course2781. Annika Sörenstam
2. Jill McGill
1997Karrie WebbSunningdale269Rosie Jones
2000Sophie GustafsonRoyal Birkdale2821. Becky Iverson
2. Meg Mallon
3. Liselotte Neumann
4. Kirsty Taylor
2001Se Ri PakSunningdale277Mi Hyun Kim
2002Karrie WebbTurnberry2731. Michelle Ellis
2. Paula Martí
2003Annika SörenstamRoyal Lytham & St Annes278Se Ri Pak
2004Karen StupplesSunningdale269Rachel Hetherington
2005Jeong JangRoyal Birkdale272Sophie Gustafson
2007Lorena OchoaSt Andrews2871. Maria Hjorth
2. Jee Young Lee
2008Jiyai ShinSunningdale270Yani Tseng
2009Catriona MatthewRoyal Lytham & St Annes285Karrie Webb
2010Yani TsengRoyal Birkdale277Katherine Hull
2011Yani TsengCarnoustie272Brittany Lang
2012Jiyai ShinRoyal Liverpool279Inbee Park
2015Inbee ParkTurnberry276Ko Jin-young
2016Ariya JutanugarnWoburn, Marquess Course2721. Mirim Lee
2. Mo Martin
2017In-Kyung KimKingsbarns270Jodi Ewart Shadoff
2018Georgia HallRoyal Lytham & St Annes271Pornanong Phatlum
2019Hinako ShibunoWoburn, Marquess Course270Lizette Salas
2020Sophia PopovRoyal Troon, Old Course277Thidapa Suwannapura
2021Anna NordqvistCarnoustie, Championship2761. Georgia Hall
2. Madelene Sagström
3. Lizette Salas
2022Ashleigh BuhaiMuirfield274Chun In-gee

Read more golf stats over here:

  1. Golf Stats: USA golfers who have won the AIG Women’s Open title
  2. FedEx St. Jude Championship Stats: USA golfers who have won the prestigious event
  3. Wyndham Championship Stats: USA golfers to have won the prestigious tournament
  4. The Evian Championship Stats: Golfers who have conquered the esteemed event

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.